WMU News

Sabbatical leaves okayed for 31 faculty

Dec. 15, 2004

KALAMAZOO--A total of 30 Western Michigan University faculty and administrators were granted sabbatical leaves Dec. 10 by the WMU Board of Trustees. The board also approved a four-month professional development leave for Dr. Catherine Julien in the Department of History.

Among the sabbatical leaves approved during the 2005-06 academic year, four went to department chairs. Their names and academic units are: Dr. John W. Benson, Department of Spanish; Dr. Andrew A. Brogowicz, Department of Marketing; Dr. David G. Dickason, Department of Geography; Dr. Paul E. Ponchillia, Department of Blindness and Low Vision Studies; and Dr. Thomas L. VanValey, Department of Sociology.

Faculty granted sabbatical leaves to be taken during the 2005-06 academic year included: Dr. John Austin, Department of Psychology; Dr. Thomas C. Bailey, Environmental Studies Program; Dr. Henry H. Beam, Department of Management; Dr. Linda J. Borish, Department of History; Dr. Lynn M. Brice, Department of Teaching, Learning and Leadership; Dr. Joetta L. Carr, University Counseling and Testing Center; Dr. Susan L. Caulfield, Department of Sociology; Dr. David Code, School of Music; Dr. Suhashni Datta-Sandhu, Department of Political Science; Dr. Charles "Jay" Emerson, Department of Geography; Dr. Harold Glasser, Environmental Studies Program; Dr. Dean W. Halderson, Department of Physics; Dr. Norman W. Hawker, Department of Finance and Commercial Law; and Dr. Yvette D. Hyter, Department of Speech Pathology and Audiology.

Sabbatical leaves also were granted to: Dr. William F. Jackson, Department of Biological Sciences; Dr. Bharti J. Katbamna, Department of Speech Pathology and Audiology; Mr. Richard J. Keaveny, School of Art; Dr. C. R. Krishnaswamy, Department of Finance and Commercial Law; Dr. Ali M. Metwalli, Department of Finance and Commercial Law; Dr. John B. Miller, Department of Chemistry; Dr. Peter G. Northouse, School of Communication; Dr. Iskender Sahin, Department of Mechanical and Aeronautical Engineering; Dr. Frank L. Severance, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering; Dr. Annette C. Skellenger, Department of Blindness and Low Vision Studies; Dr. Kristin Szylvian, Department of History; Dr. Jyh-Horng Michael Tarn, Department of Business Information Systems; Mr. Vince Torano, School of Art; Dr. Ann Veeck, Department of Marketing; Dr. Von H. Washington, Department of Theatre; and Dr. Allen Webb, Department of English.

Media contact: Jeanne Baron, 269 387-8400, jeanne.baron@wmich.edu

WMU News
Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
269 387-8400