WMU News

Make A Difference annual award candidates announced

May 26, 2005

KALAMAZOO--Twenty Western Michigan University staff members, all winners of semiannual awards through the WMU Make a Difference program, are now eligible to win one of four 2005 annual awards, each with a $1,000 prize.

The candidates are: Stephanie Armstrong, Center for Academic Support Programs; Kathrine Branch, Sindecuse Health Center; Amy Burns, College of Education; Nancy Dyksterhouse, College of Education; George Eskro, Career and Student Employment Services; Dale Hagens, physical plant-utilities; Marilyn Johnson, Haworth College of Business; Victoria Kennedy, physical plant-maintenance services; Edwina Lyons, finance and commercial law; Donna Mearing, Center for Academic Support-University Curriculum; Natalia Obreiter, military science; Donald Paff, physical plant-landscape services; Robert Purk, physical plant-landscape services; RoseMarie Roberts, Office of the Vice President for Legal Affairs and General Counsel; Kathleen Springsteen, College of Education; Chad Stec, Division of Student Affairs-Information Services; Sandra Stephens, College of Aviation; Judy Tice, Haworth College of Business; Sharon Van Dyken, Haworth College of Business; and Donald Weber, College of Education.

This prestigious annual award is reserved for WMU's "most outstanding staff employees"-those who reach far beyond their assigned responsibilities to give generously and creatively of their time and talents, making the university an even finer place to work and study.

Winners, who will be announced in June, will be selected by a committee, with representatives from each employee group. The committee will review any new information submitted for the candidates, as well as the previously-submitted semiannual nominations. There is no need to resubmit these nominations. Employees who wish to provide additional information in support of any candidate may do so through June 3. Any such additional information should include specific examples of how the candidate has demonstrated dedication to outstanding service.

Additional information in support of any candidate may be submitted by memo to Celeste Glascock or Christen Crowley, both in human resources, by e-mail sent to <Make-a-Differance@wmich.edu> or by fax sent to (269) 387-3441.

Media contact: Cheryl Roland, 269 387-8400, cheryl.roland@wmich.edu

WMU News
Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
269 387-8400