WMU Home > About WMU > WMU News

WMU News

Merrion leads campuswide provost search committee

June 15, 2006

KALAMAZOO--Western Michigan University launched its search for a new provost today with a public forum featuring a consultant from one of the nation's leading academic search firms.

James B. Appleberry of Academic Search Consultation Service led the public forum in the Bernhard Center, at which those attending were invited to offer opinions of the types of experiences and qualifications that would be desirable in a candidate, the issues that a new provost must address and "the reasons why a top-flight candidate would want to come to WMU as its next provost."

While on campus, Appleberry, who has been hired to assist the university in its search, also met with a universitywide search advisory committee appointed by WMU President Judith I. Bailey. That committee, which is led by Dr. Margaret Merrion, dean of the College of Fine Arts, includes faculty, staff, administrators and students.

The search is being conducted to identify a successor to Dr. Janet I. Pisaneschi, who accepted a one-year appointment as provost and vice president for academic affairs late last month, following the resignation of Dr. Linda Delene.

Appleberry is president emeritus of the American Association of State Colleges and Universities and former president of both Pittsburg State University and Northern Michigan University. He has been a consultant with Academic Search Consultation Services since 2000. The firm works solely in the academic arena and specializes in searches for presidents and provosts.

While visiting campus, Appleberry also is meeting with a variety of campus community members, including Kalamazoo-area trustees, the president, faculty leadership, administrators, students, alumni and community members.

In addition to Merrion, members of the search advisory committee are: Tracy Branson, associate vice president for development; Dr. James M. Butterfield, professor of political science; Sharon Carlson, director of the WMU Archives and Regional History Collections; Dr. Katherine Cummings, associate dean of the College of Education; Tony O. Dennis, advisor in the Graduate College; Dr. Eileen Evans, vice provost for institutional effectiveness; Dr. Richard Gershon, professor of communication; Amanda Grove, president of the Western Student Association; Dr. John M. Hanley, chair of the Department of Speech Pathology and Audiology; Dr. John A. Jellies, professor of biological sciences; Dr. Mary Lagerway, associate professor of nursing and president of the Faculty Senate; Dr. William W. Liou, professor of mechanical and aeronautical engineering; Barbara McKinney, registrar;

Viji Murali, vice president for information technology and chief information officer; Rosana Reboucas, chair of the Graduate Student Advisory Council; Dr. William Rutherford, professor of aviation sciences; Dr. Thomas Scannell, associate professor of management; Carrie Soule, office associate in the Office of Student Financial Aid and Scholarships; Jeffrey A. Stone, associate director of intercollegiate athletics; Janice D. Van Der Kley, associate vice president for finance; Dr. Martha Warfield, assistant vice president for student affairs; and Dr. Paul Wilson, associate professor of teaching, learning and leadership and president of the WMU chapter of the American Association of University Professors.

Related article
New Web site offers details of provost search

Media contact: Cheryl Roland, (269) 387-8400, cheryl.roland@wmich.edu

WMU News
Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
(269) 387-8400