WMU Home > About WMU > WMU News

WMU News

WMU Alumni Association selects new leadership

July 2, 2006

KALAMAZOO--Thirteen officers, executive committee members and directors have been elected to terms on the 2006-07 Western Michigan University Alumni Association Board of Directors, effective July 1.

Serving one-year terms as officers are:

President--Kirk Hoffman of Jackson, Mich., vice president of planning services at King Trust Co. in Spring Arbor, Mich. Hoffman earned a BBA from WMU in 1986. First elected to the board in 2001, he has served as treasurer, vice president, chair of the Finance Committee, and a member of the Executive and Scholarship committees.

Vice president--Richard Annen of San Diego, a partner in the San Diego-based law firm Sparber Rudolph Annen APLC. Annen earned a BBA degree from WMU in 1974. He was first elected to the board in 2001 and has served on the Executive and Distinguished Alumni committees.

Treasurer--Richard D. Bailey II of DeWitt, Mich., president of commercial banking at Republic Bank in Lansing, Mich. Bailey, who earned an MBA from WMU in 1985, was first elected to the board in 2003. He has served as treasurer and a member of the Executive, Finance and Scholarship committees.

Past president--Dale Tanis of Hamilton, Mich., chief financial officer/senior vice president of finance at the Irwin Seating Co. in Grand Rapids, Mich. Tanis earned two degrees from WMU, a BBA in 1974 and an MBA in 1984. First elected to the board in 2000, he has served as president, vice president, treasurer (two terms), chair of the Finance Committee, and a member of the Executive and Scholarship committees.

Four directors were elected to one-year terms on the WMU Alumni Association's Executive Committee. Joining the organization's officers on this committee are: Jeffry Bothwell of Chicago, BBA 1999, assistant vice president at GE Commercial Finance in Chicago; Debra Jones-McConnell of Southfield, Mich., BBA 1981, client advisor and vice president at J.P. Morgan in Detroit; Terry Olson of Grosse Pointe, Mich., BBA 1982; and Christopher Womack of Atlanta, B.S. 1979, executive vice president for external affairs at the Georgia Power Co. in Atlanta.

In addition, four Alumni Association members were elected to three-year terms on the board. They are: Craig Courts of Caledonia, Mich., BBA 1983, MBA 1991, president of the Michigan division of Inergy Propane; James Koessel of Grand Rapids, Mich., B.A. 1972, executive vice president at Byron Center State Bank; William Parsons of Plainwell, Mich., B.A. 1967, M.A. 1971, director of administrative and human resources at Miller, Canfield, Paddock & Stone, PLC; and Elizabeth Rogers of Grand Rapids, Mich., B.S. 1990, MPA 1994, registered nurse and clinical director at Hospice of Holland Home. Elected to a one-year term on the board was Jonathan Knowels of East Lansing, B.A. 2003, a law student and legal clinician at the MSU College of Law.

The WMU Alumni Association, with more than 13,000 dues-paying members throughout the world, serves the University and its graduates by providing alumni with a continuous link to WMU and each other. More information is available online at www.wmich.edu/alumni.

Media contact: Jeanne Baron, 269 387-8400, jeanne.baron@wmich.edu

WMU News
Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
(269) 387-8400