WMU Home > About WMU > WMU News

WMU News

Forty-nine professors granted tenure

July 17, 2006

KALAMAZOO--Forty-nine faculty members were approved for tenure by the Western Michigan University Board of Trustees July 14. The tenured appointments are effective with the beginning of the 2006-07 academic year.

The faculty members and their academic areas, by their current academic rank or position are:

Associate professor--Dr. Lee J. deLisle, health physical education and recreation; Dr. Kieran J. Fogarty, occupational therapy; Vladimir Risukhin, aviation; Dr. Laura T. Spielvogel, anthropology; and Dr. Maureen Taylor, communication.

Assistant professor--Dr. Marc Alspector-Kelly, philosophy; Dr. Massood Z. Atashbar, electrical and computer engineering; Dr. Robert F. Berkhofer III, history; Dr. James J. Biles, geography; Mozhden B. Bruss, family and consumer sciences; Dr. Jonathan Bush, English; Dr. Deborah L. Che, geography; Dr. Kuanchin Chen, business information systems; Dr. Carol J. Crumbaugh, teaching, learning and leadership; Dr. Josephine Barry Davis, teaching, learning and leadership; Dr. Lisa M. DeChano, geography; Dr. Vincent Desroches, foreign languages; Dr. Lonnie E. Duncan, counselor education and counseling psychology; Dr. James A. Eckert, marketing; Dr. Johnson Haas, geosciences; Dr. Lynne Heasley, history; Dr. Karen Horneffer-Ginter, physician assistant; Kevin High, aviation; Dr. C. James Hueng, economics; Dr. Jennifer A. Machiorlatti, communication; Dr. Juanita Manning-Walsh, nursing; Dr. Kelly A. McDonnell, counselor education and counseling psychology; Dr. Patricia M. Montilia, Spanish; Dr. Amy E. Naugle, psychology; Dr. Paul Nwulu, communication; Dr. Louann A. Bierlein Palmer, teaching learning and leadership; Dr. Jennifer Palthe, management; Dr. Muhammad A. Razi, business information systems; Edward A. Roth, music; Dr. Michael J. Ryan, economics; Dr. Eric M. Sauer, counselor education and counseling psychology; Dr. Jeffrey A. Strom, mathematics; Dr. Judith L. Swisher, finance and commercial law; Dr. Ineke Way, social work; Lisa Whittaker, aviation; Dr. Jennipher Wiebold, blindness and low vision studies; Dr. Devrim Yaman, finance and commercial law; and Dr. Richard W. Zinser, family and consumer sciences.

Faculty specialist II--Elizabeth P. Amidon, English; Jerrie L. Fiala, industrial and manufacturing engineering; Laurie E. Hays, accountancy; Judith A. Rypma, English; and Jaclyn M. West-Frazier, occupational therapy.

Faculty specialist I--Patrick J. Ryan, health, physical education and recreation.

Media contact: Mark Schwerin, (269) 387-8400, mark.schwerin@wmich.edu

WMU News
Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
(269) 387-8400