WMU Home > About WMU > WMU News

WMU News

Trustees approve 18 retirements

July 20, 2006

KALAMAZOO--The retirements of eight faculty members, three administrators and seven staff members were approved by the Western Michigan University Board of Trustees at its July 14 meeting. Trustees also accepted the resignations of eight faculty members and five administrators.

Six of the faculty members who are retiring are doing so with emeriti status. Their names, positions, years of continuous service and effective dates of retirement are: Dr. William M. Cremin, professor of anthropology, 31-1/2 years, effective April 30, 2007; Dr. Ronald W. Davis, professor of history, vice provost for international programs and academic affairs budget officer, 41 years, effective June 30, 2007; Dr. Jorge M. Febles, professor of Spanish and chair of the Department of Spanish, 26 years, effective June 30, 2006; Dr. Marie F. Gates, professor of nursing, and director of WMU's Bronson School of Nursing, seven years, effective Aug. 1, 2007; Dr. Eldor C. Quandt, associate professor of geography, 41-1/2 years, effective Dec. 31, 2006; and Dr. Visho B.L. Sharma, professor of arts and sciences, 40 years, effective Aug. 21, 2007.

The other two faculty members retiring are: Dr. Paul Wienir, associate professor of sociology, 36 years, effective May 30, 2006, and Kathleen Young, master faculty specialist in the Bronson School of Nursing, 12 years, effective May 1, 2007.

The staff members retiring are: Gilbert L. Douglas, electrician, physical plant, 19-1/2 years, effective July 31, 2006; Maria Jonaitis, office assistant, Division of Multicultural Affairs, 33-1/2 years, effective April 30, 2006; Rita K. Keller, office coordinator, Student Activities and Leadership Programs, 15-1/2 years, effective May 31, 2006; Ann C. Panse, coordinator reference service, University Libraries, 21 years, effective Aug. 31, 2006; Becky L. Ryder, office coordinator, Department of Economics, 40 years, effective July 31, 2006; Ann E. Soukup, physician assistant, Sindecuse Health Center, 15-1/2 years, effective June 30, 2006; and Jei H. Yoo, library assistant, University Libraries, 18 years, effective Aug. 31, 2006.

The faculty members resigning are: Dr. Paula S. Brush, associate professor of sociology, effective July 30, 2006; Dr. Cynthia L. Carver, assistant professor of teaching, learning and leadership, effective July 30, 2006; Dr. Deborah Che, assistant professor of geography, July 30, 2006; Fang Chen, associate professor of art, effective July 30, 2006; Dr. Evelyn M. Clingerman, assistant professor of nursing, effective June 28, 2006; Dr. Paul Copp, assistant professor of comparative religion, effective July 30, 2006; Natalie Marrone, assistant professor of dance, effective July 31, 2006; and Rachel B. Whaley, assistant professor of sociology, effective July 31, 2006.

The administrators resigning are: Dr. Nicholas A. Andreadis, dean of Extended University Programs, effective June 4, 2006; Dr. Deborah Barnes, director of the Lewis Walker Institute for the Study of Race and Ethnic Relations, effective June 30, 2006; Dr. Linda M. Delene, provost and vice president for academic affairs, effective May 22, 2006; and Dr. Natalie E. Morton, director of diversity recruitment and retention in the Graduate College, effective May 19, 2006.

Media contact: Jeanne Baron, (269) 387-8400, jeanne.baron@wmich.edu

WMU News
Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
(269) 387-8400