WMU Home > About WMU > WMU News

WMU News

Fifty-six faculty members granted tenure

June 7, 2007

KALAMAZOO--Fifty-six faculty members were approved for tenure by the Western Michigan University Board of Trustees June 7. The tenured appointments are effective with the beginning of the 2007-08 academic year.

The faculty members and their academic areas, by their current academic rank and department, are:

Assistant professor--Dr. Amos O. Aduroja, health, physical education and recreation; Dr. Betsy M. Aller, industrial and manufacturing engineering; Dr. Julie Apker, communication; Dr. Suzan F. Ayers, health, physical education and recreation; Dr. Bradley J. Bazuin, electrical and computer engineering; Michele D. Behr, University libraries; Dr. Christopher C. Cheatham, health, physical education and recreation; Dr. Alamgir Choudhury, industrial and manufacturing engineering; Sue Ellen Christian, communication; Dr. Stephen G. Covell, comparative religion; Dr. Stephen E. Craig, counselor education and counseling psychology; Dr. Scott. T. Gaynor, psychology; Dr. Esther N. Gray, special education and literacy studies; Dr. Jon D. Holzman, anthropology; Dr. David Huffman, chemistry; Dr. Mark S. Hurwitz, political science; Dr. Michael L. Kent, communication; Dr. Andrew A. Kline, paper engineering, chemical engineering and imaging; Dr. Tetyana S. Koshmanova, teaching, learning and leadership; Dr. David Kutzko, foreign languages; Dr. Jane-Jane Lo, mathematics; Dr. Chantel L.S. Lumpkin, family and consumer sciences; Dr. Robin E. McKinney, social work; Dr. Mustafa K. Mirzeler, comparative religion; Dr. Yirong Mo, chemistry; Dr. Angela M. Moe, sociology; Dr. Christopher C. Nagle, English; Dr. Carl Ratner, music; Bernard S. Proeschl, family and consumer sciences; Dr. Ola Marie Smith, accountancy; Dr. Mary Ann Stark, nursing; Dr. Belinda Straight, anthropology; Dr. Stephen M. Tasko, speech pathology and audiology; Dr. Brian C. Tripp, biological sciences; Dr. Karen M. VanDeusen, social work; Eric Vangsnes, physician assistant; Dr. Robert S. Wall-Emerson, blindness and low vision studies; and Dr. Sherif Yehia, civil and construction engineering.

Faculty specialist II--Dr. Teresa Crumpton, speech pathology and audiology; Heidi Douglas-Vogley, speech pathology and audiology; Margaret H. Dupuis, English; Kathryn L. Hillenbrand, speech pathology and audiology; Harold L. Hladky, paper engineering, chemical engineering and imaging; Eva Marie Jerome, nursing; Cheryl H. Lyon-Jenness, history; David Orchanian, occupational therapy; Dr. Mariola Perez de la Cruz, Spanish; Sally A. Sutkowi, nursing; Adelia M. Van Meter, speech pathology and audiology; Sally J. Vliem, nursing; and John E. Weitzel, marketing.

Faculty specialist I--Dr. Miriam P. Coleman, business information systems; Janice W. Maatman, public affairs and administration; Barbara L. Sagara, business information systems; Neil T. Turner, finance and commercial law; and Dr. Carol A. Weideman, health, physical education and recreation.

Media contact: Mark Schwerin, (269) 387-8400, mark.schwerin@wmich.edu

WMU News
Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
(269) 387-8400