WMU Home > About WMU > WMU News

WMU News

Nominations sought for Distinguished Teaching Award

Sept. 10, 2007

KALAMAZOO--Up to three full-time members of the Western Michigan University faculty will be honored in October with the University's Distinguished Teaching Award. The deadline for nominations for this year's awards is Thursday, Sept. 20.

"These awards celebrate teaching, which is the core mission of our University," says Dr. Katherine Joslin, professor of English, chair of the award committee and a 1997 recipient of the award. "Anyone may submit a nomination. We especially encourage students and alumni to voice their opinions and nominate the member of the faculty whose exceptional teaching made a difference in their lives."

The honor was extended to 131 faculty members between 1966 and 2001, when it was known as the Teaching Excellence Award and was sponsored by the WMU Alumni Association.

Following a four-year hiatus, the award was reinstated in 2006 with its new name under the sponsorship of the provost's office. Dr. Irma M. Lopez, professor of Spanish, and Dr. Suhashni "Sushi" Datta-Sandhu, associate professor of political science, were the first recipients of the revived award. [Past recipients are listed below.]

Eligibility and nominations

Eligible to receive the award are full-time members of the faculty. Recipients will be recognized at the academic convocation in October. The awards carry a one-time cash prize of $2,000 and a subsequent increase in base salary. Past recipients are not eligible for a second award.

Nominations may made online or submitted in the form of a letter to the Distinguished Teaching Award Committee and should include the nominator's full name and signature, mailing address, phone number and e-mail address and indicate the nominator's relationship to WMU.

Please mail nomination letters to Distinguished Teaching Award, Office of the Provost, Western Michigan University, Kalamazoo MI 49008-5204.

Contact Katherine Joslin at katherine.joslin@wmich.edu with questions or comments.

Related article
Lopez, Datta-Sandhu honored for teaching excellence

Past recipients

2006 - Sushi Datta-Sandhu, Irma M. Lopez
- Mary L. Dawson, Carolyn J. Harris
2000 - Alyce M. Dickinson, Alexander J. Enyedi
1999 - Ronald B. Chase, Frank M. Gambino
1998 - E. Thomas Lawson, Greg Roehrick
1997 - Jorge M. Febles, Katherine Joslin
1996 - Yousef Alavi, Wendy L. Cornish
1995 - Elwood Ehrle, Robert Griffin
1994 - Joseph Buckley, Bob White
1993 - David Karsten, Edward Mayo, Cecil McIntire
1992 - Susan Caringella-MacDonald, Richard Cooper, Lyda Stillwell
1991 - Constantine Gianakaris, Gerald Hardie, Harold Ray
1990 - Arnold Johnston, Richard Keaveny
1989 - Alan Brown, Robert Felkel, Leo Stevenson
1988 - James Burns, Zahir Quraeshi, Arthur White
1987 - Max Benne, Gary Chartrand, Meshulam Groper
1986 - John Fisher, Gilbert Hutchings, Roy Olton, Shirley Scott
1985 - Betty Deshler, Alonzo Hannaford, Alan Isaak, Larry Oppliger, Ernest Stech
1984 - Raymond Alie, Clara Gamble, Jack Michael, Steven Rhodes, David Rozelle
1983 - Mary Ann Bush, Elizabeth Giedeman, Gilda Greenberg, A.D. Issa, Uldis Smidchens
1982 - Ralph Chandler, M. Joanne Mohr, Richard Pippen, Visho Sharma, Kathleen Sinning
1981 - Ronald Kramer, Andrew Powell, George Robeck, Nancy Steinhaus, Roger Wallace
1980 - Lowell Crow, Jack Humbert, Louis Junker, Phyllis Rappeport, Archie Watson
1979 - Shirley Bach, Thomas Deckard, Linda Delene, Oscar Horst, Robert Neubig
1978 - Thomas Carey, Stanley Derby, Dale King, Charles Smith, Michael Swords
1977 - Harold Bate, Sherwood Cordier, Harry Hefner
1976 - Zane Cannon, Martin Cohen, Cameron Lambe, Fred Orlofsky, Shirley VanHoeven
1975 - Wade Adams, Lee Baker, Paul Friday, Gale Newell, David Rozelle
1974 - Thomas Gossman, Paul Maier, Lurette McCray, George Stegman, Jess Walker
1973 - Lewis Carlson, Raymond Deur, James Daniels, Charles Houston, Mary Lous Stewart
1972 - Gene Booker, Edward Heinig, Herb Jones, Alice Lewis, Dorothy McGinnis, Leo VanderBeek
1971 - Robert Barstow, Dorothy Bladt, William Buys, James Casey, Jean Malmstrom, Lewis Walker
1970 - Donald Bouma, Jean Friedel, Darrell Jones, Richard Pippen, Rudolf Siebert, Dean Tyndall
1969 - Clara Chiara, Edwin Grossnickle, Howard Mowen
1968 - Willis Dunbar, Ken Macrorie, Herman Rothfuss
1967 - David Adams, Charles Brown, Margaret Macmillan
1966 - William Morrison

Media contact: Thom Myers, (269) 387-8400, thom.myers@wmich.edu

WMU News
Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
(269) 387-8400