WMU Home > WMU News >

WMU News

Forty faculty members granted tenure

June 19, 2008

KALAMAZOO--Forty faculty members were approved for tenure by the Western Michigan University Board of Trustees June 13. The tenured appointments are effective with the beginning of the 2008-09 academic year.

The faculty members and their disciplines, listed by their current academic rank, are:

Associate professor--Dr. Tianshu Liu, mechanical and aeronautical engineering.

Assistant professor--Dr. Jon R. Adams, English; Dr. Heather Addison, communication; Dr. Onur Arugaslan, finance and commercial law; Bradford Dennis, University Libraries; Dr. Charles R. Henderson, physics; Dr. Sarah Hill, anthropology; Dr. Phillip Johnson, counselor education and counseling psychology; Dr. James J. Kiddle, chemistry; Dr. Ok-Kyeong Kim, mathematics; Dr. Mahendra S. Lawoti, political science; Dr. Robert J. Leneway, educational leadership, research and technology; Dr. Kathryn Lewis-Ginebaugh, University Counseling and Testing Center; Mark Liermann, theatre; Dr. Nancy B. Mansberger, teaching, learning and educational studies; Dr. Michael Millar, Spanish; Mustafa Mughazy, foreign languages; Dr. Debasri Mukherjee, economics; Dr. Lori A. Muse, management; Dr. Jun-Seok Oh, civil and construction engineering; Dr. Sue Poppink, educational leadership, research and technology; Dr. Pablo M. Pastrana, Spanish; Dr. Shaila Rao, special education and literacy studies; Dr. Sybil Rhodes, political science; Dr. Wuwei Shen, computer science; Dr. Paul R.Vellom, teaching, learning and educational studies; Dr. Karen S. Vocke, English; Dr. Kevin Wanner, comparative religion; Dr. Donna M. Weinreich, social work; Michael Whang, University Libraries; Dr. Peter Wielhouwer, political science; and Dr. Takashi Yoshida, history.

Faculty specialist II--Mary J. Baukus, nursing; Cheryl L. Bauman-Bruey, theatre; Michael C. Braun, Spanish; Martin Grant, aviation; and Dr. Joni Jones, nursing.

Faculty specialist I--Loren Heun, statistics; Kathleen Onderlinde, biological sciences; and Jodie G. Palmer, teaching, learning and educational studies.

Media contact: Mark Schwerin, (269) 387-8400, mark.schwerin@wmich.edu

WMU News
Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
(269) 387-8400