WMU Home > WMU News >

WMU News

Faculty promotions announced

June 19, 2008

KALAMAZOO--The Western Michigan University Board of Trustees approved the promotions of 66 faculty members at its June 13 meeting.

Twenty-nine faculty members were promoted to the rank of full professor, 31 to associate professor, four to master faculty specialist and two to faculty specialist II. All of the promotions are effective with the beginning of the 2008-09 academic year.

New professors and their disciplines include Dr. Richard Adams, music; Dr. Amos J. Beyan, history; Dr. Sandra L. Borden, communication; Dr. Jose A. Brandao, history; Cat L. Crotchett, art; Dr. Leigh A. Ford, communication; Dr. Thomas W. Gorczyca, physics; Dr. Emily I. Hauptmann, political science; Dr. Norman W. Hawker, finance and commercial law; Dr. Margaret Joyce, paper engineering, chemical engineering and imaging; Dr. David N. Karowe, biological sciences; Dr. Jean Kimmel, economics; Dr. Kirk T. Korista, physics; Dr. Cindy L. Linn, biological sciences; Dr. Yuanlong Liu, health, physical education and recreation; Dr. Matthew S. Mingus, public affairs and administration; Dr. Timothy B. Palmer, management; Dr. John S. Petrovic, mathematics; Dr. Dewei Qi, paper engineering, chemical engineering and imaging; Dr. Silvia Rossbach, biological sciences; Dr. Nancy M. Schullery, business information systems; Dr. Jana K. Schulman, English; Dr. J. Michael Tarn, business information systems; Dr. Robert E. Vann, Spanish; Dr. Delores D. Walcott, University Counseling and Testing Center; Dr. Wilson J. Warren, history; Dr. Susan Weinger, social work; and Dr. Steve M. Wolfinbarger, music.

New associate professors are Dr. Jon R. Adams, English; Dr. Heather Addison, communication; Dr. Onur Arugaslan, finance and commercial law; Bradford W. Dennis, University Libraries; Dr. Charles R. Henderson, physics; Dr. Sarah Hill, anthropology; Dr. Phillip Johnson, counselor education and counseling psychology; Dr. James J. Kiddle, chemistry; Dr. Ok-Kyeong Kim, mathematics; Dr. Mahendra S. Lawoti, political science; Dr. Robert J. Leneway, educational leadership, research and technology; Dr. Kathryn Lewis-Ginebaugh, University Counseling and Testing Center; Mark Liermann, theatre; Dr. Nancy B. Mansberger, teaching, learning and educational studies; Dr. Michael Millar, Spanish; Dr. Mustafa Mughazy, foreign languages; Dr. Debasri Mukherjee, economics; Dr. Lori A. Muse, management; Dr. Jun-Seok Oh, civil and construction engineering; Dr. Pablo M. Pastrana-Perez, Spanish; Dr. Sue Poppink, educational leadership, research and technology; Dr. Shaila Rao, special education and literacy studies; Dr. Sybil D. Rhodes, political science; Dr. Wuwei Shen, computer science; Dr. R. Paul Vellom, teaching, learning and educational studies; Dr. Karen S. Vocke, English; Dr. Kevin J. Wanner, comparative religion; Dr. Donna M. Weinreich, social work; Michael Whang, University Libraries; Dr. Peter W. Wielhouwer, political science; and Dr. Takashi Yoshida, history.

New master faculty specialists are Mary J. Baukus, nursing; Cheryl L. Bauman-Bruey, theatre; Dr. Joni L. Jones, nursing; and Jo Wiley, business information systems.

New faculty specialists II are Loren L. Heun, statistics, and Kathleen Onderlinde, biological sciences.

Media contact: Tonya Hernandez, (269) 387-8400, tonya.hernandez@wmich.edu

WMU News
Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
(269) 387-8400