WMU Home > WMU News

WMU News

Thirty-six granted sabbatical leaves

Dec. 17, 2008

KALAMAZOO--The Western Michigan University Board of Trustees granted sabbatical leaves for 36 faculty members at its Dec. 12 meeting.

Those granted sabbaticals and their titles and academic units are: Dr.  Leonard C. Ginsberg, associate vice president for research; Dr.  Jon R. Adams, associate professor of English; Dr.  Julie Apker, associate professor of communication; Dr.  Sisay Asefa, professor of economics; Dr.  Robert J. Bensley, professor of health, physical education and recreation; Dr.  Peter Blickle, professor of foreign languages; Dr.  James M. Butterfield, professor of political science; Dr.  Vincent Desroches, associate professor of foreign languages; Dr.  Margaret H. Dupuis, master faculty specialist in English; Dr.  Nancy Eimers, professor of English; Dr.  G. Michael Grammer, associate professor of geosciences; Dr.  David A. Guth, professor of blindness and low vision studies; Dr.  Charles R. Henderson, associate professor of physics; Tricia Hennessy, professor of art; Dr.  Sarah Hill, associate professor of anthropology; Dr.  Jon D. Holtzman, associate professor of anthropology; Dr.  Chiayang James Hueng, associate professor of economics; Dr.  Catherine Julien, professor of history; Dr.  Steven Kohler, director of environmental studies; Dr.  Tetyana S. Koshmanova, associate professor of teaching, learning and educational studies; Dr.  Ronald B. Larson, associate professor of marketing; Dr.  Steven N. Lipkin, professor of communication; Dr.  David M. Lyth, professor of industrial and manufacturing engineering; Dr.  Niloufer Mackey, professor of mathematics; Dr.  Stephen B. Malcolm, professor of biological sciences; Dr.  Arthur R. McGurn, professor of physics; Dr.  Yirong Mo, associate professor of chemistry; Dr.  Jennifer Palthe, associate professor of management; Dr.  Dewei Qi, professor of paper engineering, chemical engineering and imaging; Dr.  Muhammad A. Razi, associate professor of business information systems; Dr.  David W. Rudge, associate professor of biological sciences; Dr.  Christopher J. Schmidt, professor of geosciences; Dr.  Wuwei Shen, associate professor of computer science; Dr.  Mary Ann Stark, associate professor of nursing; Dr.  Jeffrey Strom, instructor of mathematics; and Dr.  Victor Cunrui Xiong, professor of history.

Media contact: Deanne Molinari, (269) 387-8400, deanne.molinari@wmich.edu

WMU News
Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
(269) 387-8400