WMU Home > WMU News

WMU News

WMU News on Twitter

Deadline approaches for Distinguished Teaching Award

March 9, 2011

Share |

KALAMAZOO--Up to three full-time members of the Western Michigan University faculty will be honored with the University's Distinguished Teaching Award. The deadline for nominations for this year's awards is Friday, April 1.

Who is eligible?

Any full-time, board-appointed WMU faculty member teaching undergraduate or graduate students is eligible for the Distinguished Teaching Award; however, the award may be given only once in a career.

Who can nominate?

Students, alumni, past recipients and faculty eligible for the award are encouraged to nominate a worthy teacher. No self nominations or nominations from administrators will be accepted.

More information and an online nomination form for the Distinguished Teaching Award can be found on the provost's website.

Contact Dr. Katherine Joslin at katherine.joslin@wmich.edu with questions or comments.

More than 130 past recipients

The honor was extended to 131 faculty members between 1966 and 2001, when it was known as the Teaching Excellence Award and was sponsored by the WMU Alumni Association. Following a four-year hiatus, the award was reinstated in 2006 and has been presented since 2007 as the Distinguished Teaching Award under the sponsorship of the provost's office.

Past recipients

Photo of WMU's Jaimy Gordon.

2010 - Grace C. Tiffany, Philip G. Walcott, Stephen M. Wolfinbarger
2009 - Chad Edwards, Peter E. Parker
2008 - Mary Z. Anderson
2007 - Richard Gershon, Trent Kynaston, Jennifer Palthe
2006 - Sushi Datta-Sandhu, Irma M. Lopez
2001 - Mary L. Dawson, Carolyn J. Harris
2000 - Alyce M. Dickinson, Alexander J. Enyedi
1999 - Ronald B. Chase, Frank M. Gambino
1998 - E. Thomas Lawson, Greg Roehrick
1997 - Jorge M. Febles, Katherine Joslin
1996 - Yousef Alavi, Wendy L. Cornish
1995 - Elwood Ehrle, Robert Griffin
1994 - Joseph Buckley, Bob White
1993 - David Karsten, Edward Mayo, Cecil McIntire
1992 - Susan Caringella-MacDonald, Richard Cooper, Lyda Stillwell
1991 - Constantine Gianakaris, Gerald Hardie, Harold Ray
1990 - Arnold Johnston, Richard Keaveny
1989 - Alan Brown, Robert Felkel, Leo Stevenson
1988 - James Burns, Zahir Quraeshi, Arthur White
1987 - Max Benne, Gary Chartrand, Meshulam Groper
1986 - John Fisher, Gilbert Hutchings, Roy Olton, Shirley Scott
1985 - Betty Deshler, Alonzo Hannaford, Alan Isaak, Larry Oppliger, Ernest Stech
1984 - Raymond Alie, Clara Gamble, Jack Michael, Steven Rhodes, David Rozelle
1983 - Mary Ann Bush, Elizabeth Giedeman, Gilda Greenberg, A.D. Issa, Uldis Smidchens
1982 - Ralph Chandler, M. Joanne Mohr, Richard Pippen, Visho Sharma, Kathleen Sinning
1981 - Ronald Kramer, Andrew Powell, George Robeck, Nancy Steinhaus, Roger Wallace
1980 - Lowell Crow, Jack Humbert, Louis Junker, Phyllis Rappeport, Archie Watson
1979 - Shirley Bach, Thomas Deckard, Linda Delene, Oscar Horst, Robert Neubig
1978 - Thomas Carey, Stanley Derby, Dale King, Charles Smith, Michael Swords
1977 - Harold Bate, Sherwood Cordier, Harry Hefner
1976 - Zane Cannon, Martin Cohen, Cameron Lambe, Fred Orlofsky, Shirley VanHoeven
1975 - Wade Adams, Lee Baker, Paul Friday, Gale Newell, David Rozelle
1974 - Thomas Gossman, Paul Maier, Lurette McCray, George Stegman, Jess Walker
1973 - Lewis Carlson, Raymond Deur, James Daniels, Charles Houston, Mary Lous Stewart
1972 - Gene Booker, Edward Heinig, Herb Jones, Alice Lewis, Dorothy McGinnis, Leo VanderBeek
1971 - Robert Barstow, Dorothy Bladt, William Buys, James Casey, Jean Malmstrom, Lewis Walker
1970 - Donald Bouma, Jean Friedel, Darrell Jones, Richard Pippen, Rudolf Siebert, Dean Tyndall
1969 - Clara Chiara, Edwin Grossnickle, Howard Mowen
1968 - Willis Dunbar, Ken Macrorie, Herman Rothfuss
1967 - David Adams, Charles Brown, Margaret Macmillan
1966 - William Morrison

Share |

Media contact: Thom Myers, (269) 387-8400, thom.myers@wmich.edu

WMU News
Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
(269) 387-8400