Skip To Nav

Site-specific menu

Share |

Broncos skate into NCAA tourney as No. 3 seed

by Adam Bodnar

March 20, 2011 | WMU News

Photo of WMU hockey Broncos.
KALAMAZOO--Awarded the No. 3 seed in the Midwest Regional, the Western Michigan University Broncos will be making their fourth appearance in the NCAA Division I Men's Hockey Tournament and first since 1996 when they take on the University of Denver Saturday, March 26, at 5 p.m. at the Resch Center in Green Bay, Wis.

Updated TV coverage: WMU versus Denver will be televised live in the Kalamazoo area on CW7, which is channel 7 on Charter Cable, 253 on Comcast Digital and 17 on Comcast Basic. The game will be televised tape delayed Sunday, March 27, on ESPNU. Live radio coverage will be provided by the Bronco Radio Network on 96.5 FM WKZO and at

WMU, 19-12-10, earned a three seed after finishing in fourth place in the CCHA and upsetting Michigan to make it to the CCHA Tournament Championship game for the first time since 1986. This year's three seed matches the 1985-86 team for the highest NCAA Tournament seed in school history. The Broncos lost to Harvard in a best of three series in 1986 and are 0-4 all-time in the tournament.

Regional play begins Friday and Saturday, March 25-26. The Frozen Four will be played at the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul, Minn., Thursday, April 7, and Saturday, April 9.

Midwest Regional (Green Bay, Wis.)
1. North Dakota vs. 4. Rensselaer
2. Denver vs. 3. WMU Broncos

East Regional (Bridgeport, Conn.)
1. Yale vs. 4. Air Force
2. Union vs. 3. Minnesota-Duluth

Northeast Regional (Manchester, N.H.)
1. Miami vs. 4. New Hampshire
2. Merrimack vs. 3. Notre Dame

West Regional (St. Louis)
1. Boston College vs. 4. Colorado College
2. Michigan vs. 3. Nebraska-Omaha

NCAA Men's Hockey Tournament Facts

WMU joins Miami, Michigan and Notre Dame representing the Central Collegiate Hockey Association in this year's tournament. Only the Western Collegiate Hockey Association has more teams in the tournament: North Dakota, Denver, Nebraska Omaha, Minnesota Duluth and Colorado College.

Defending champion Boston College has won two of the past three titles and will try to become the first repeat national champion since Denver in 2005.

Michigan is making a 21st consecutive NCAA appearance, longest active string, and owns the record for most overall appearances with 34. New Hampshire qualified for the 10th straight time, and North Dakota qualified for its ninth straight appearance.

Michigan has won the most championships, with nine, but has not won a title since 1998. Denver, which last won in 2005, and North Dakota, which won in 2000, are tied with seven national titles each, next most after the Wolverines.

CCHA teams have played in three of the past four national title games. Michigan State won in 2007, Notre Dame and Miami lost in 2008 and 2009, respectively.

Michigan universities have combined for 19 NCAA national men's hockey titles, nine more than the next closest state. In addition to the University of Michigan (9 championships) other national champions from the state are Michigan State (3), Lake Superior State (3), Michigan Tech (3) and Northern Michigan (1).

Visit for more details and updates.

Related articles
Broncos fall to Miami 5-2 in CCHA title game
Broncos advance to championship with 5-2 win over Michigan