Skip To Nav

Site-specific menu

Share |

First recipients of diversity awards announced

by Jeanne Baron

March 30, 2011 | WMU News

KALAMAZOO--The Western Michigan University campus community is invited to attend the inaugural Excellence in Diversity Awards program from 5 to 7 p.m. Wednesday, April 6, in the Bernhard Center's East Ballroom.

Reservations to attend may be made at and are requested by Friday, April 1.

The event will recognize the first recipients of WMU's recently established Excellence in Diversity Awards. It also will showcase the Everyone Counts Learning Community and faculty and staff projects related to the last year's participation in the "RACE: Are We So Different?" exhibit. Multicultural refreshments will be served.

The new awards program celebrates leadership, as demonstrated by successful efforts to increase diversity on campus, advance WMU's Diversity and Multicultural Action Plan, and help create a climate that welcomes and supports all individuals.

Recipients represent outstanding, exceptional or extraordinary individuals and groups engaged in initiatives and innovations in such areas as teaching, research, programs and services. They will have their names added to a prominently posted plaque, in addition to being feted at the April 6 program.

2011 Excellence in Diversity Awards

In addition, special recognition will be given to two WMU employees for leading the Committee for Leadership in Diversity, Social Justice and Inclusion. The two are Dr. Yvette Hyter, associate professor of speech pathology and audiology, and Dr. Katharine Cummings, associate dean of the College of Education and Human Development.

For more information, contact Zarinah El-Amin Naeem in the Office of Diversity and Inclusion at (269) 387-6324.