Skip To Nav

Site-specific menu

Share |

Trustees approve retirements of three faculty, three staff members

by Jeanne Baron

July 25, 2011 | WMU News

KALAMAZOO--The retirements of three faculty members and three staff members were approved by the Western Michigan University Board of Trustees at its July 22 meeting.

Trustees also signed off on three faculty and staff member resignations as well as leaves for two faculty members.

Faculty retirements

All of the faculty members who are retiring are doing so with emeritus status. Their names, positions, years of continuous service and effective dates of retirement are:

Staff retirements


The faculty members resigning are: Dr. John Austin, professor of psychology, effective Aug. 19, 2011, and Dr. Liang Dong, associate professor of electrical and computer engineering, effective June 30, 2011.

The staff member resigning is: Jeff Blashill, head hockey coach, effective July 8, 2011.

Leaves were granted to: Dr. Lee deLisle, former chair of human performance and health education, sabbatical, effective for the fall 2011 semester and Dr. Jaimy Gordon, professor of English, leave of absence, effective for the 2011-12 academic year. In addition, the sabbatical date for Dr. Robert Wall Emerson, professor of blindness and low vision studies, was changed to the 2012-13 academic year.