Research and Discovery News

  • Photo from a New York City suffragist parade.

    Share in WMU's stories of discovery with the Scholar Talks video series, featuring some of the ground-breaking work being done here.

    Scholar Talk videos
  • Photo of 2017 Stanford University Innovation Fellows.

    WMU students Jill Puckett and Nathan LaWarre have been chosen as Standford University Innovation Fellows.

    About the fellowship
  • Photo of Dr. Jeffrey Angles.

    A way with words: Dr. Jeffrey Angles is one of only a handful of non-native speakers ever to win Japan's Yomiuri Prize for Literature.

    About the prize
  • Photo of Dr. Lofton Durham.

    Dr. Lofton Durham, associate professor of theatre, has received a $6,000 award from the National Endowment for the Humanities.

    About the grant


WMU ranks 68th in business education research, leads way in state | Aug. 14
A recent study measuring research published in quality journals and research co-authorship ranks WMU 68th internationally in business and management education research.

WMU Mallinson Institute receives $622,992 NSF grant | Aug. 14
Dr. Charles R. Henderson, director of WMU Mallinson Institute for Science Education, receives a National Science Foundation grant of $622,992 in support of the project to evaluate instruction.

WMU Evaluation Center receives RO1 NIH grant | Aug. 11
Dr. Stephen Magura has been awarded a National Institute of Health grant for his project titled "Community Utilization of Evidence-Based Program Registers in Behavioral Healthcare."

Discovery Webinar Series announced | Aug. 11
The Office of the Vice President for Research is hosting a series of webinars at various locations around campus. No registration is required.

Discover Discovery research workshop 2017-18 schedule | Aug. 7
Research workshops held at the WMU Fetzer Center on various Tuesdays throughout the academic year. Lunch is provided. Registration is required.

Vandiver honored for research relating to ethnic miniorities | Aug. 7
Dr. Beverly Vandiver, counselor education and counseling psychology, received a Distinguished Career Contribution to Research award from the American Psychological Association.

National Science Foundation awards $905,141 grant  | July 20
Drs. Charles Henderson and Andrea Beach have received a $905,141 grant from the National Science Foundation to support their work on institutional change in higher education.

Obare named interim vice president for research | July 6
Dr. Sherine O. Obare has been named WMU's interim vice president for research, effective Aug. 1. She replaces Dr. Daniel M. Litynski, who is returning to the engineering faculty.

Grants to WMU soar past $3.7 million mark in April, May | June 30  
Grants to WMU passed the $3.7 million mark during April and May, bringing the year-to-date total for externally funded awards to more than $23.2 million.

Save the date for Fall Convocation | June 27
Plan now to attend activities Friday, Oct. 6, that include the presentation of WMU's annual campuswide awards and incoming President Edward B. Montgomery's first State of the University address.

Share the Story: Scholar Talks 2017 | May 31
Experience some of the ground-breaking work being done by WMU researchers and scholars.

NSF CAREER Awards received by WMU faculty | May 31

Drs. Fahad Saeed and Wendy Scott Beane have been awarded prestigious NSF CAREER Awards.

Find your research program officer | May 31

The research office offers help with proposal development, submission and other pre-award activities as well as assistance with contract negotiation and development. Let us put you in touch with the right professional.

WMU theatre faculty member wins NEH grant | April 17

Dr. Lofton Durham, associate professor of theatre, has received a $6,000 Summer Stipend from the National Endowment for the Humanities.

Dr. Sally Hadden wins William Nelson Cromwell Foundation grant | March 18, 2017

The grant will support publication of her forthcoming book on the forebears, formation and early years of the U.S. Supreme Court.

Stanford names two WMU students as University Innovation Fellows | March 1

Jill Puckett and Nathan LaWarre are among 224 nationally and internationally named University Innovation Fellows, a global program run by Stanford University.

Professor wins prestigious Japanese literary prize for poetry | Feb. 20

Dr. Jeffrey Angles, world languages and literatures, is one of only a handful of non-native speakers ever to win the prestigious Yomiuri Prize for Literature.

Four researchers awarded Distinguished Grant Awards | Feb. 14

Drs. James Henry, Robert Bensley, Stephanie M. Peterson and Jianping Shen were honored at the 2017 Spring Convocation Ceremony. View award acceptances

Submit research-related news and events to Diana Hearit.