Responsibility and Auxiliary Units

A number of areas of the University are identified as responsibility units (“RU”). By definition, RUs must generate revenues. RUs are held accountable for the effective and efficient management of their resources and for developing strategic and financial plans that align with overall academic and University plans. The SDSC has designated colleges and auxiliary units to be the primary RUs. The following areas are identified as RUs:

  • College of Arts and Science
  • College of Aviation
  • Haworth College of Business
  • College of Education and Human Development
  • College of Engineering and Applied Sciences
  • College of Fine Arts
  • College of Health and Human Services

The University’s auxiliary operations already operate as RUs. The following are identified as auxiliary units and as such, RUs:

  • Athletics
  • Auxiliary Administrative Services
  • Center for Disability Services
  • Fetzer Center
  • Housing, Dining Services, Bernhard Center
  • Miller Auditorium
  • Paper Pilot Plant
  • Parking Services
  • Sindecuse Health Center
  • Telecommunications
  • The Oaklands
  • Unified Clinics
  • WMU Supply Sales-Postage/Billing
  • West Hills Athletic Club

 Budget planning document with voiceover