Alumni classnotes, winter 2024

Contact: Deanne Puca

Western Michigan University recognizes alumni achievements and announcements submitted during winter 2024.

Ric E. Todd, BS ‘65, MA ‘71, owner of Ricart, Inc. in San Diego, was included in Marquis Who’s Who.

George D. Jepson, BA ‘66, MA ‘70, MBA '73, of Kalamazoo, Michigan, published his latest book, “Sailing the Sweetwater Seas: Wooden Boats and Ships on the Great Lakes, 1817-1940” (Sheridan House).

Michael P. Hatty, BA ‘75, was reappointed as chief judge of the Livingston County (Michigan) Circuit and District Courts. He has served as a circuit court judge since 2009. He was first appointed as chief judge by the Michigan Supreme Court in 2020.

Peg Dedo Hawthorne, BA ‘82, of Greenville, South Carolina, was published by Xulon Press for “Reflections: Seasons of Life,” a collaboration with her daughter Elizabeth Fitzgerald Hawthorne highlighting the many seasons a person may experience during their life.

Jill Eggers, BFA ‘83, of Grand Rapids, Michigan, was one of five regional artists chosen by the Gerald R. Ford International Airport Authority to paint murals in the newly expanded Concourse A.

Keith G. Vandenbussche, BS ‘84, became principal at engineering consulting company IMEG Corp. in Farmington Hills, Michigan.

Craig Duncan, BS ‘90, president and managing director of Cutters Studios in New York City, was named chairperson of the 2024 Association of Independent Commercial Producers Post Awards.

Jean Theis, MBA ‘99, was named the first Vice President of Branches-Illinois for MSU Federal Credit Union.

Cari McGee, BA ‘04, is the new principal for Bunnell Elementary School in Flagler County, Florida.

Jenita Moore, MPA ‘04, joined the Executive Office of Michigan Gov. Gretchen Whitmer as director of the Office of Community Engagement.

Zachary Newton, MA ‘06, is the new director for the city of Kankakee (Illinois) Environmental Services Utility, which oversees the operations of the Department of Public Works, city’s sewer system, hydroelectric plant and technical services.

Justin S. Lintz, BBA ‘08, senior director of consumer goods and industry advisors for Salesforce, has been included in the Marquis Who’s Who.

Ann Novoa, BBA ‘14, was promoted to the position of finance director for the village of Flossmoor, Illinois.

Natalie Polaskey, BS ‘19, was promoted to branch manager of the United Federal Credit Union office in downtown St. Joseph, Michigan.

Wady Ramírez, PhD ‘20, president of the Universidad Eugenio María de Hostos in the Dominican Republic, began a three-year term in December 2023 as president of the Assembly of the Dominican Association of Universities.

Send submissions: Include your name (first, middle, last, maiden), degree(s), year(s) graduated and a daytime phone number by which we can reach you. We will publish photos as space permits.