HSK Proficiency Test

The Chinese Proficiency Test (HSK) is a standardized test to assess the Chinese language proficiency of non-native speakers, including non-Chinese nationals, Chinese overseas and students of Chinese national minorities.

HSK Chinese Proficiency Test Overview

  • Western Michigan University has offered the HSK test on campus since 2010.
  • The HSK is the only standardized Mandarin Chinese proficiency test for non-native speakers recognized by the Chinese government, which was first offered at Beijing Language and Culture University.
  • A HSK certificate is recognized without limitation in the People' s Republic of China and which may be useful for higher education and professional purposes.
  • WMU offers the stay-home online HSK test on 4/23/2022. Due to COVID-19 situation, WMU does not offer the on-site HSK test. Registration deadline is 15 days before the test date. Check this web page for the updates on the future test dates or send the email to lin.chaohui@wmich.edu and request to be on the contact list for the future HSK release dates. Please click on the button at the bottom of the page to register.
  • For the payment and HSK stay home test requirements and the detail information, please read the guide carefully: Online HSK test home edition guide

HSK Levels: comprises of six levels from HSK-Level 1 to HSK-Level 6

LevelDescription of Language SkillsTest StructureDuration (Min.)Test Fee ($)
Level 1

Test takers who reach HSK-Level 1 can understand and use simple words and sentences to fulfill specific communication needs.

Level 1 have a foundation for the further study of Chinese.

Listening: 20 Questions 

Reading: 20 Questions

Level 2

Test takers who reach HSK-Level 2 can communicate simply and directly on daily topics they are familiar with. 

Level 2 have reached the advanced stage of beginner level.

Listening: 35 Questions

Reading: 25 Questions

Level 3

Test takers who reach HSK-Level 3 can complete basic communication tasks in daily life, study and work. 

If traveling in China, Level 3 can handle most communication tasks they encounter.

Listening: 40 Questions

Reading: 30 Questions

Writing: 10 Question

Level 4

Test takers who reach HSK-Level 4 can discuss a relatively wide range of topics in Chinese.

Level 4 are able to communicate with native speakers.

Listening: 40 Questions

Reading: 30 Questions

Writing: 10 Questions

Level 5

Test takers who reach HSK-Level 5 can read Chinese newspapers and magazines, and appreciate Chinese films and television. 

Level 5 are able to write and deliver a full speech.

Listening: 45 Questions

Reading: 45 Questions

Writing: 10 Questions

Level 6

Test takers who reach HSK-Level 6 can easily understand what they read and listen.

Level 6 are able to express themselves fluently in written and oral Chinese.

Listening: 50 Questions

Reading: 50 Questions

Writing: 10 Questions


Cancellation Refunds:

      • If a student withdraws from the test and notifies WMU before the registration deadline, a full refund will be given.
      • If a student withdraws from the test and notifies WMU after the registration deadline, no refund will be given.