Professional Development Institute Past Participants

august 18 - 21, 2020 Inaugural institute participants

Lisah Crall, Geological and Environmental Services, Program Manager

Felicia Crawford, Institutional Equity, Director of Title IX Compliance

Betty Dennis, School of Interdisciplinary Health Programs, Faculty Specialist

Melissa Holman, Multicultural Affairs for Students, Director

Shashanta James, Financial Aid, Director

Megan Larson, College of Arts and Sciences Advising, Academic Advisor

Irma Lopez, Lee Honors College/Spanish, Interim Dean/Professor

Nate Nguyen, LBGTQ Student Services, Director

David Paul, Philosophy, Chairperson

Cari Robertson, Health Promotion/Health Education, Director

Michael Smith, Student Affairs, Marketing Specialist Senior

Adam Wall, Institutional Equity, Assistant Director of Compliance

Luchara Wallace, Lewis Walker Institute/Special Education and Literacy Studies, Director/Associate Professor

Evelyn Winfield-Thomas, Institutional Equity, Executive Director

Toni Woolfork-Barnes, Osher Lifelong Learning Institute, Director


may 4 - 7, 2021 institute participants

Suzan Ayers, Family and Consumer Sciences, Professor and Interim Chairperson

Jonathan Baker, Psychology, Associate Professor

Amy Brimmer, Human Resources, Director of Compensation

Gus Calbert, Lewis Walker Institute for the Study of Racial and Ethnic Relations, Program Manager

Erika Carr, Office of Pre-College Programming, Director

Lofton Durham, Theatre, Associate Professor

Adrienne Fraaza, Office of Student Transitions, Director

Deveta Gardner, Merze Tate College, Associate Dean

Ronicka Hamilton, Seita Scholars Program, Director

Charles Henderson, Physics, Professor and Mallinson Institute for Science Education, Director

Warren Hills, Human Resources, Chief HR Officer/Associate Vice President

Rebecca Huntley, Political Science, Administrative Assistant II

Mariam Konate, Institute for Intercultural and Anthropological Studies, Associate Professor

Keith Kothman, School of Music, Professor and Director

Megan Kowalske, Chemistry, Associate Professor and Chairperson

LaSonja Roberts, Educational Leadership, Research and Technology, Assistant Professor

Maria Roche-Dean, School of Nursing, Assistant Professor

Lori Sims, School of Music, Professor of Piano

Christopher Sligh, Office of Student Engagement, Director

John Spitsbergen, Biological Sciences, Professor and Chairperson

Jessica Swartz, Office of General Counsel, Deputy General Counsel

Kara Wood, Community Partnerships, Associate Vice President


may 3 - 6, 2022 institute participants

Matthew Bracey, Office of Student Transitions, Fall Welcome Coordinator

Jou-Chen Chen, Family and Consumer Sciences, Assistant Professor

Gretta Clay, Human Resources, Director of Human Resources Services

Amy Damashek, Psychology, Associate Professor

Glen Dillon, Office of Student Engagement, Assistant Director for Student Media

Danielle Field, Haworth College of Business, Student Professional Readiness Series (SPuRS), Coordinator

Katrina Goodall, Office of Diversity and Inclusion, Campus Coach, Kalamazoo Promise Scholars

Jim Herman, Career & Student Employment Services, Career Development Specialist

Maria Mata, Institutional Equity, Administrative Assistant Sr.

Andrea Mellendorf, Residence Life, Apartment Complex Coordinator

Alyssa Moon, WMUx, Lead Instructional Designer

Ángela Pérez-Villa, History, Assistant Professor

Brandy Pleasants, Mallinson Institute for Science Education, Faculty Specialist II

Reetha Raveendran, Student Affairs, Associate Vice President and Dean of Students

Kelly Robertson, Evaluation Center, Principal Research Associate

Jill Rowe, School of Interdisciplinary Health Programs, Associate Professor

Chaz Schwandt, Housing and Residence Life, Hall Director Eicher/Lefevre

Yu-Lien The, School of Music, Assistant Professor of Keyboard Studies

Ewa Urban, Merze Tate College, Director of Assessment and Effectiveness

Pamela Wadsworth, Bronson School of Nursing, Assistant Professor


may 2 - 5, 2023 institute participants

Amy Bocko, University Libraries, Digital Projects Librarian

Cesar Briones, Multicultural Affairs for Students, Navigation Specialist

Mo Brooks, Student Success Services, Student Success Navigator

Adriana Cardoso Reyes, Institutional Effectiveness, Associate Director Institutional Accreditation and Planning

Janay Christian, Health Promotion and Education, Assistant Director, Mental Well-Being

Donielle Easlick, Dean of Students Office, Program Manager

Tammy Eaton, College of Education and Human Development, TRiO FESP Program Coordinator

Amanda Jeppesen, Career & Student Employment Services, Coordinator of Student Employment

Jordan Johnson, Multicultural Affairs for Students, Navigation Specialist

Dylan Juhl, University Libraries, Humanities Librarian

Demetra Lafayette, Career & Student Employment Services, Career Development Specialist

Beixi Li, Educational Leadership, Research and Technology, Assistant Professor

Genny Ludwig, Human Resources, Business Manager/HRIS Analyst Sr

Bri McCann, Office of Sustainability, Program Manager

Marie Moreno, Business Information Systems HCOB, Faculty Specialist

Lusike Mukhongo, School of Communication, Associate Professor

Olivia Ngadjui, Counselor Education and Counseling Psychology, Assistant Professor

Randy Ott, Merze Tate College, Senior Director Academic Collaboration

Dawn Smith, Bronson School of Nursing, Faculty Specialist

Gigi Ward, Residence Life, Hall Director