Trustees approve retirements of 12 faculty, seven staff members

Contact: Jeanne Baron

KALAMAZOO—The retirements of 12 faculty members and seven staff members were approved by the Western Michigan University Board of Trustees at its Dec. 5 meeting.

Trustees also signed off on five faculty resignations as well as two faculty leaves.

Faculty retirements

All of the faculty members retiring are doing so with emeritus status. Their names, positions, years of continuous service and effective dates of retirement are:

  • Dr. Nora Berrah, professor of physics, 23 years, effective Aug. 31, 2014
  • Dr. Dwayne E. Channell, professor of mathematics, 35 years, effective April 30, 2014
  • John Gregory Fitzgerald, associate professor of University Libraries, 33 years, effective June 30, 2014
  • Dr. Marion W. "Buddy" Gray, professor of history, 18 years, effective April 30, 2019
  • Dr. Barbara L. Harris, associate professor of teaching, learning and educational studies, 43 years, effective April 30, 2018
  • Dr. James W. Kamman, associate professor of mechanical and aerospace engineering, 22 years, effective Dec. 31, 2014
  • Dr. Thomas L. Kent, professor of English, 15 years, effective May 1, 2019
  • Dr. Richard G. Long, professor of blindness and low vision studies, 21 years, effective June 1, 2019
  • Donna M. Ring, associate professor of University Libraries, 35 years, effective Aug. 31, 2014
  • Dr. Leo J. Stevenson, associate professor of finance and commercial law, 38 years, effective Aug. 31, 2014
  • Dr. Susan Weinger, professor of social work, 26 years, effective April 30, 2019
  • Dr. Allen Zagarell, professor of anthropology, 29 years, effective April 30, 2017

Staff retirements

The staff members retiring are:

  • Linda K. Cleland, insurance associate in the Sindecuse Health Center, 16 years, effective Oct. 29, 2013
  • Leon J. Coleman, building project specialist in building custodial and support services, 35 years, effective Oct. 31, 2013
  • Judy K. Dinda, custodian in building custodial and support services, 33 years, effective Dec. 31, 2013
  • Cheri L. Edgar, office coordinator in the Department of Business Information Systems, 12 years, effective Jan. 5, 2014
  • Patricia A. Evans, business manager in University Recreation, 22 years, effective Dec. 31, 2013
  • Margaret T. Magallon, custodian in building custodial and support services, 15 years, effective Jan. 1, 2014
  • Rosalie J. Nelsen, research assistant in the Office of Development and Alumni Relations, 26 years, effective Dec. 31, 2013

Faculty resignations

The faculty members resigning are:

  • Ann Gribbin, faculty specialist I-professional specialist in family and consumer sciences, effective Dec. 22, 2013
  • Dr. Andreas Rudolph Regelsberger, assistant professor of world languages and literatures, effective Dec. 22, 2013
  • Steven Tkachuk, faculty specialist I-aviation specialist in aviation, effective Sept. 23, 2013
  • Dr. Alan H. Wuosmaa, professor of physics, effective Aug. 22, 2014
  • Dr. Ruth Zielinski, assistant professor of nursing, effective Dec. 22, 2013

Faculty leaves

The faculty leaves were granted for professional development to:

  • Dr. Nora Berrah, professor of physics, effective Jan. 1 through Aug. 31, 2014
  • Dr. Alan H. Wuosmaa, professor of physics, effective Jan. 1 through Aug. 22, 2014