Trustees approve retirements of six faculty, 15 staff members

Contact: Jeanne Baron
Photo of a WMU sign.

The trustees signed off on personnel changes at their April 9 meeting.

KALAMAZOO—The retirements of six faculty members and 15 staff members were approved by the Western Michigan University Board of Trustees at its April 9 meeting.

Trustees also signed off on two faculty resignations as well as two leaves and the return of two administrators to the faculty.

Faculty retirements

All of the faculty members who are retiring are doing so with emeritus status. Their names, positions, years of continuous service and effective dates of retirement are:

  • Dr. Esther N. Gray, associate professor of special education and literacy studies, 18 years, effective April 30, 2019
  • Dr. Christian R. Hirsch, professor of mathematics, 41 years, effective Dec. 31, 2014
  • Dr. Dionysios I. Kountanis, associate professor of computer science, 36 years, effective Dec. 31, 2014
  • Dr. Richard M. Oxhandler, professor of physician assistant/integrative holistic health and wellness, 37 years, effective Dec. 31, 2014
  • Dr. Allen J. Schwenk, professor of mathematics, 34 years, effective April 30, 2019
  • Dr. Gerald L. Sievers, professor of statistics, 46 years, effective April 30, 2014

Staff retirements

The staff members retiring are:

  • Connie Altman, operations analyst in the Office of Information Technology, 34 years, effective Feb. 28, 2014
  • Terry R. Bettiga, supervisor in maintenance services, 26 years, effective March 31, 2014
  • Craig L. Boucher, programmer analyst in the Office of Information Technology, 25 years, effective Jan. 7, 2014
  • Annette Calvert, office associate for WMU-Battle Creek, 19 years, effective April 30, 2014
  • Nancy L. Cardoza, medical office assistant in the Sindecuse Health Center, 15 years, effective April 30, 2014
  • Sandra Custer, systems specialist in the Sindecuse Health Center, 26 years, effective Dec. 31, 2013
  • Cynthia R. Dunnaway, police officer in the Department of Public Safety, 30 years, effective Jan. 31, 2014
  • Lunny D. Green, statistician in the Registrar's Office, 34 years, effective Jan. 31, 2014
  • Caryne M. Hanson, senior clerk in the Office of Student Financial Aid and Scholarships, 11 years, effective Jan. 24, 2014
  • Patricia M. Holton, director of environmental safety and emergency management in the Department of Public Safety, 26 years, effective March 31, 2014
  • Arthur Hudson, groundskeeper II in Facilities Management-landscape services, 17 years, effective Feb. 28, 2014
  • Joan E. Johnson, switchboard coordinator in the Office of Information Technology-telecommunications, 24 years, effective Feb. 28, 2014
  • Gregg McChesney, skilled trades helper in Facilities Management-maintenance services, 32 years, effective Jan. 31, 2014
  • Frances N. Morrow, director of medical social work in the Sindecuse Health Center, 11 years, effective April 30, 2014
  • Loisjean A. Shelton, custodian in Facilities Management-building custodial and support services, 26 years, effective April 30, 2014

Other personnel matters

The faculty members resigning are:

  • Dr. Akon E. Ekpo, assistant professor of marketing, effective Aug. 17, 2014
  • Dr. Todd P. White, assistant professor of accountancy, effective April 29, 2014

The administrators returning to the faculty, along with their previous positions and faculty positions, are:

  • Dr. David Colson, from director of the School of Music to professor of music, effective July 1, 2014
  • Dr. John A. Patten, from chair of the Department of Manufacturing Engineering to professor of industrial and entrepreneurial engineering and engineering management, effective July 1, 2014

The leaves were granted to:

  • Dr. Susan MB Steuer, University Libraries, sabbatical leave, effective fall semester 2014 (change from fall semester 2014 and fall semester 2015)
  • Dr. Fritz Allhoff, associate professor of philosophy, professional leave, effective Aug. 18, 2014, through April 26, 2015