Novelist next up in Frostic Reading Series

Contact: Mark Schwerin

KALAMAZOO, Mich.—The award-winning author of two novels will be the final presenter in the spring 2015 Gwen Frostic Reading Series at Western Michigan University.

Scott Blackwood, author of the novels "See How Small" and "We Agreed to Meet Just Here," will read from his works at 8 p.m. Thursday, April 2, in the Little Theatre. The event is free and open to the public.

Scott Blackwood

Blackwood has garnered widespread acclaim for his novels. Writing about "See How Small," a riveting novel about the aftermath of the brutal murder of three teenage girls, a New York Times reviewer called it a "thought-provoking novel," while accomplished American fiction writer Ben Fountain said the book is "as fine as any being written by an American author today."

In addition to his two novels, Blackwood also is the author of a story collection, "In the Shadow of Our House." He is the recipient of a Whiting Writers' Award in fiction, the Association of Writers and Writing Program Award for the novel, and was nominated for a 2015 Grammy Award for his narrative nonfiction book, "The Rise and Fall of Paramount Records Volume One." A longtime resident of Austin, Texas, Blackwood now lives in Chicago and teaches fiction writing in the MFA program at Southern Illinois University.

About the series

The Frostic Reading Series presents acclaimed creative writers from across the nation and beyond. Every year, a diverse range of readings that encompasses poetry, fiction, nonfiction and drama attract both campus and off-campus audiences.

For more information, visit

For more news, arts and events, visit