Ten staffers honored for outstanding service

Contact: Jeanne Baron

KALAMAZOO, Mich.—Ten Western Michigan University staff members were honored as outstanding employees during a Dec. 3 reception in the Bernhard Center to recognize the fall 2015 recipients of WMU's semiannual Make a Difference Award.

Award recipients

The recipients each received $300, before taxes, and a commemorative certificate. They are:

  • Sheila Atherton, Accounts Receivable
  • Jayne P. Fraley-Burgett, Disability Services for Students
  • Kathleen MacKenzie, Department of Theatre
  • Delores J. Minshall, Office of Information Technology
  • Johnny L. Paige, Bernhard Center
  • Renee M. Pearl, Office of Development and Alumni Relations
  • Emma Perk, Evaluation Center
  • Teri Schrimpf, Office of Institutional Research
  • Karen M. Steeno, Career and Student Employment Services
  • Joe VanDerBos, Sindecuse Health Center

About the program

The Make a Difference Award Program is a campuswide peer-to-peer program that recognizes University staff members for their outstanding accomplishments and daily investment of energy and creativity.

Award winners are selected by a committee comprised of their peers. Recipients of each year's fall and spring semiannual award are in the running to receive one of WMU's four Annual Make a Difference Awards.

For more information or for a year-round nomination form, visit wmich.edu/ makeadifference.

For more news, arts and events, visit wmich.edu/news.