WMU celebrates research, diversity and global engagement

Contact: Deanne Puca
Photo of award winners at the 2016 Spring Convocation.

Award winners at the 2016 Spring Convocation

KALAMAZOO, Mich.—"Spring Convocation: Recognition of Discovery, Diversity and Global Engagement" will take place Friday, Feb. 17, at the Fetzer Center.

The new annual spring gathering will include events from Extended University Programs, Haenicke Institute for Global Education, Office of Diversity and Inclusion and Office of the Vice President for Research. They include scholar talks, professional development workshops, a recognition luncheon, and convocation and awards, followed by a Gold Gathering reception. Other sponsors include the Office of the President and Office of the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs.

View the flier


A morning session will feature four "Share the Story" scholar talks from 9:15 to 11:40 a.m.

  • Dr. Jan Hahn, coordinator, Center for Gerontology and assistant professor of interdisciplinary health programs, will discuss "Redefining Dementia Care through Research.
  • Dr. Kevin Corder, professor of political science, will speak on "A Century of Votes for Women: The 19th Amendment and American politics."
  • Dr. Sharon Gill, associate professor of biological sciences, will speak on "Exploring How Animals Respond to a Noisy World.
  • Lori Brown, associate professor of aviation, will discuss how to "Transform Your Classroom with Augmented Reality."

WMU’s Emerging Scholar for 2016, Dr. Jessaca Spybrook, associate professor of evaluation, measurement and research, will speak at 1:30 p.m. in the Putney Auditorium on "Designing Impact Studies in Education in the Past 15 Years: Have We Made Any Progress?" Dr. Changsheng He, Distinguished Faculty Scholar in 2015 and professor of geography, will follow at 2:30 p.m. with a presentation on "Watershed Science and Global Water Sustainability."

An award presentation will begin at 3:30 p.m., followed by a Gold Gathering reception with appetizers and a cash bar until 6 p.m. For more information, visit wmich.edu/research.

Award recipients

Extended University Programs

  • Innovative Teaching Award—Paul Solomon, associate professor of art.
  • Innovative Teaching Award—Whitney DeCamp, associate professor of sociology.
  • Community Engagement Award—Holly Grieves, faculty clinical specialist for occupational therapy.

Office of Diversity and Inclusion

  • Rising Star in Diversity Award—Megan McCoy, catering banquet manager for the Bernhard Center.
  • Trailblazers for Diversity Award, registered student organization—Intercultural Business Student Association.
  • Excellence in Diversity Award, employee—James Brand, Disability Services for Students.
  • Excellence in Diversity Award, student—Jon Curtis, third-year undergraduate student studying gender and women’s studies who works with training and education in the Office for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Students.

Haenicke Institute for Global Education, Global Engagement Awards

  • Dr. Zahir Quraeshi, the G.W. Haworth chair of Global Business and director of the Global Business Center at the Haworth College of Business.
  • Ann Ganz, study abroad specialist senior in WMU Study Abroad.

Office of the Vice President for Research, Distinguished Grant Awards

  • Dr. James Henry, a co-founder and project director for the Children's Trauma Assessment Center.
  • Dr. Robert Bensley, professor of community and public health education and director of the eHealth Innovations Group at WMU.
  • Dr. Stephanie M. Peterson, professor and chair of psychology.
  • Dr. Jianping Shen, the John E. Sandberg Professor of Education and the Gwen Frostic Endowed Chair for Research and Innovation in education leadership, research and technology.

For more news, arts and events, visit wmich.edu/news.