WMU trustees to welcome new members, elect leadership

Contact: Paula M. Davis

The meeting has been canceled due to inclement weather and the closure of the University.

KALAMAZOO, Mich.—The swearing in of recently appointed trustees and the election of officers are on the agenda when the Western Michigan University Board of Trustees meets Wednesday, Jan. 23.

The meeting in 157-159 Bernhard Center will begin at 11 a.m. with David Behen of Saline and Shelly Edgerton of Plainwell taking the oath of office. Judge Christopher T. Haenicke of Kalamazoo County's Eighth District Court will administer the oath.

Behen and Edgerton were appointed as new members to the University's governing board in October by then-Gov. Rick Snyder. Behen fills a vacancy created by the resignation of Trustee William Pickard and will serve the remainder of an eight-year term that expires Dec. 31, 2020. Edgerton will serve a new eight-year term, expiring Dec. 31, 2026.

In October, the governor also re-appointed Lynn Chen-Zhang to the Board of Trustees. Chen-Zhang first joined the board in early 2017 to fill out the remaining nearly two years of resigning Trustee Dana Debel's term. Her eight-year term expires Dec. 31, 2026.

The meeting also includes the election of officers, including board chair and vice chair. Recommended action involving a sidewalk easement and reports covering gifts and personnel changes round out the agenda.

Find the board's full agenda online.

For more WMU news, arts and events, visit WMU News online.