Celebrate faculty, staff achievement at 2023 Fall Awards Celebration

Contact: Deanne Puca

KALAMAZOO, Mich.—Western Michigan University’s Fall Awards Celebration on Friday, Sept. 29, will recognize the University’s finest, including awards for exceptional teaching, service, longtime and emerging scholarly work.

President Edward Montgomery and Dr. Julian Vasquez Heilig, provost and vice president for academic affairs, will lead the celebration, which recognizes faculty and staff for excellence in teaching, research and service. The celebration in Kirsch Auditorium of the Fetzer Center begins at 11 a.m. with a luncheon to follow and concludes at 1:30 p.m. The annual event recognizes recipients of special honors presented by a variety of divisional leaders: Distinguished Service, Distinguished Teaching, Distinguished Faculty Scholar, Emerging Scholar, Excellence in Diversity and Make a Difference awards.

Award recipients

2022-23 Make a Difference Awards

  • Denise Champion, Facilities Management, Building and Custodial Support Services

  • Lisah Crall, College of Arts and Sciences

  • Andrew Francisco, University Dining Services

  • Scott Hennessy, Office of Admissions

2019-20 Make a Difference Awards

*We are pleased to honor these 2019-20 awardees whose in-person ceremony was precluded by the pandemic.

  • Bri M. McCann, program manager for Office for Sustainability

  • Roshona Porter, associate director of facilities, Housing and Residence Life
  • Dr. Colleen Kay Stano, director of academic advising, Haworth College of Business
  • Pamela K. Zawacke, custodian, Facilities Management

Emerging Scholar Award

  • Dr. Shannon McMorrow, associate professor of public health

Distinguished Teaching Award

  • Dr. David Rudge, professor of biological sciences

Distinguished Service Award

  • Dr. Mariola Perez de la Cruz, master faculty specialist of Spanish

Distinguished Faculty Scholar Award

  • Dr. Charles Henderson, professor of physics

Excellence in Diversity Awards

  • Tony Dennis, Graduate College
  • Department of Speech, Language and Hearing Sciences

  • Leah Latumaerissa, undergraduate student

For more WMU news, arts and events, visit WMU News online.