Emerging Scholar Award


  • Portrait of Shannon Locke McMorrow, Ph.D., School of Interdisciplinary Health Programs.

    2023-24 Recipients: Shannon Locke McMorrow

About the award

The Emerging Scholar Award program was launched in late 2006 to acknowledge the accomplishments of WMU faculty members who are among the rising stars in the U.S. higher education. This award recognizes the scholarly or creative achievements of outstanding colleagues whose accomplishments are evidence of great potential for scholarship or creative work. Eligible faculty are all those current, continuing, full-time, Board-appointed, tenured persons with faculty rank and in good standing, who were tenured no earlier than January 2019. Untenured faculty members are not eligible.

Award Criteria

Scholarship or creative activity may be artistic, historical, literary, philosophical, scientific or technical. Current scholarly/creative achievement shall demonstrate:

  • Impact on the state of scholarship or advancement of knowledge in the discipline.
  • Impact beyond the discipline or on the general public.
  • Evidence of international professional recognition.
  • Evidence of outstanding promise to achieve renown in continuing work,


Contact Tonya Dean or email: faculty-development@wmich.edu with questions, comments, or concerns regarding the Emerging Scholar Award.


Nomination Procedure

Nominations are due Friday, April 5, 2024 for the 2024-25 Emerging Scholar Award. Nominations must be submitted electronically through the webform (right).

Nominations may be made by any member of the University community. Self-nomination is acceptable.

Nomination materials

Nominations must comprise a current curriculum vitae (CV) and at least two letters of support, including one from outside the University. Nominators are asked to address specifically how the faculty member meets each of the criteria, and use appropriate headings to guide the reviewers. The letters should explain:

  1. the significance of the nominee’s research/creative achievements, in terms of impact on both the discipline and the general public and
  2. why current scholarship/creative activity portends renown in continuing work.

Incomplete nominations will not be considered.

Past Recipients

  • List of recipients since 2006
    • 2023—Shannon Locke McMorrow
    • 2022—Wendy Beane, Nicholas Hanson, and Charlie Kurth
    • 2021—Megan Grunert Kowalske, Kristina Lemmer, Adam Mathews
    • 2020—Due to the conditions imposed by COVID-19 no nominations were accepted.
    • 2019—Elena Litvinova
    • 2018—Maria Selena O. Protacio
    • 2017—Gellert Mezei
    • 2016—Jessaca Spybrook
    • 2015—Luigi Berto
    • 2014—Fritz Allhoff
    • 2013—Chris L.S. Coryn, Michael A. Famiano, Kristina Wirtz
    • 2012—Jeffery Angles, Charles Henderson, Sherine Obare
    • 2011—Eli Rubin
    • 2010—Yirong Mo, Bilinda Straight
    • 2009—G. Michael Grammer, Taskashi Yoshida
    • 2008—Kuanchin Chen, Jennifer Machiorlatti
    • 2007—Stephen Covell, Igor Fedotov, David Huffman
    • 2006—Mitch Kachun, Carla M. Koretsky, Kirk T. Korista