University recognizes outstanding staff members for semiannual Make a Difference Awards

Contact: Deanne Puca

KALAMAZOO, Mich.—Western Michigan University staff members who go above and beyond to help the Western community thrive are once again being honored at the Make a Difference Awards—the University's highest accolade for non-faculty employees. There are semiannual and annual award recipients recognized each year based on nominations from across campus.

“Make a Difference Award winners are exceptional individuals who have not only excelled in their roles but have additionally earned the respect and admiration of their peers who nominate them for this honor. I’m very proud to join with the entire Western community in applauding them for their service on behalf of our University,” says WMU President Edward Montgomery.

Family, friends and co-workers are invited to an in-person, mask-required ceremony where the recipients will receive their award on Tuesday, Dec. 7, beginning at 2 p.m. in room 157 of the Bernhard Center.

Fall 2021 semiannual Make a Difference Award recipients

  • Tanya Bakija, Frostic School of Art
  • Kate Bates, Office of Student Engagement
  • Anne Copeland, Office of Student Transitions
  • Kristi Corradini, Cash Operations
  • Rhonda Cosby, Landscape Services
  • Jennifer French, Valley Dining Services
  • Julie Hayward, University Libraries
  • Thomas Howe, Department of Geological and Environmental Sciences
  • Devin LeDoux, Valley Dining Center
  • Mary Osborn, Valley Dining Center
  • Stephanie Radant, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Terri Stowers, University Libraries
  • Nathan VanderWeele, Department of Psychology
  • Jodi Ward, Graduate College
  • Elena Wood, Graduate College

Now that the fall honorees have been announced, the Make a Difference Awards committee will accept nominees through Feb. 28 for the spring cycle. Four annual award recipients, typically announced in the spring, are selected from the semiannual awardees.

For more WMU news, arts and events, visit WMU News online.