Outstanding staff members recognized for making a difference at Western

Contact: Deanne Puca

KALAMAZOO, Mich.—Fourteen Western Michigan University staff members will receive one of the University’s highest accolades and be honored at the Make a Difference Awards on Tuesday, Dec. 6, at 2 p.m. in room 157 of the Bernhard Center.

WMU Make a DifferenceFamily, friends and co-workers are invited to the ceremony where the recipients will receive their award and be recognized for going above and beyond to help the Western community thrive.

“Being recognized among your peers for an individual contribution is a most rewarding honor. With every Make a Difference Awards ceremony, it is heartening to learn about the ways members of our campus community go above and beyond their responsibilities to make Western a remarkable place to learn and work. I'm excited to join the University community in giving congratulations to the fall semiannual Make a Difference Awards recipients,” President Edward Montgomery says.

Fall 2022 semiannual Make a Difference Award recipients

  • Denise Champion, Building and Custodial Support Services

  • Hardy Figueroa, University Advancement

  • Katie Fox, Lee Honors College

  • Andrew Francisco, University Dining Services

  • Scott Hennessy, Office of Admissions

  • Brian Hills, Haenicke Institute for Global Education

  • Christine Hummel, School of Public Affairs and Administration

  • Christopher Jackson, Department of Biological Sciences

  • Simeon Jaiyeoba, Building and Custodial Support Services

  • Yvonne Johnson, Auxiliary Cash Operations

  • Kathy Mitchell, Office of the Ombuds 

  • Shannon Myers, College of Education and Human Development

  • Svetlana Stone, Haenicke Institute for Global Education

  • Michael Worline, College of Arts and Sciences

Semiannual and annual award recipients are recognized each year based on nominations from across campus.

Now that the fall honorees have been announced, the Make a Difference Awards committee will accept nominees through Feb. 28 for the spring cycle. Four annual award recipients, typically announced in the spring, will be selected from the semiannual awardees.

For more WMU news, arts and events, visit WMU News online.