Bronco Advocacy Newsletter

Catch up on the latest news from Government Affairs in the Bronco Advocacy Network newsletter.

december 2018

who are my new legislators?

Unsure about who is representing you in Michigan and Washington D.C.? Use the Bronco Advocacy Network Find Legislator tool to quickly identify your representatives via your mailing address. Search results will include names and a link to comprehensive information about your representatives in the U.S. Congress and the State Legislature, as well as elected administrative officials (governor, secretary of state, etc.).

WMU delegation delivers $1.5M for Unified clinics

Officials holding honorary $1.5M checkWestern Michigan University is slated to receive a $1.5 million state appropriation for its Unified Clinics, a multi-specialty group practice that annually serves more than 5,000 patients in Southwest Michigan and beyond, which operates under the auspices of the University's College of Health and Human Services.

State Sen. Margaret O'Brien, who was instrumental in securing the funding, formally announced the allocation during a news conference Tuesday, Oct.2.

“WMU’s Unified Clinics provides invaluable health care services to some of Southwest Michigan’s most under-served,”  O’Brien says. “I advocated for needed funding to ensure the University can provide the best possible care for its clients, many of which are children. Kalamazoo area residents should be proud to have such a great organization in our backyard.” Read more at WMU News.

WMU student art on display in senate and house office buildings

WMU student with art quilt

WMU alumna Madeline Galer

Work by two WMU art students is currently on display in Lansing as part of the Art in the Legislature program hosted by a partnership between the Michigan Association of State Universities and the Michigan Legislature.

WMU alumna Madeline Galer, who graduated in April 2018, was in Lansing for a ceremony on Oct. 17 that recognized all the student artists from Michigan colleges and universities whose work was selected for exhibition. Galer’s piece, “Burst” is hanging on the 5th floor of the Anderson Office Building, home of the House of Representatives.

WMU senior Kimberly Barret’s piece, "Food is My Drug," is hanging on the 3rd floor of the Binsfield Office Building, home of the Senate. See her work in the Art in the Legislature brochure.

Bronco Gubernatorial appointments

Congratulations to the following Broncos selected for gubernatorial appointments

New appointments 

  • Charles Tackett, of Kalamazoo, Fire Fighters Training Council. 
  • Brian Gard, of Rockford, School Safety Task Force.


  • Julie Silver, of Royal Oak, Michigan Board of Acupuncture. 
  • Robert Scolnik, of Norton Shores, Commission on Community Action and Economic Opportunity. 
  • Brian Eggers, of Linwood, Underground Storage Tank Authority Board.

The governor's office is always seeking qualified candidates to serve on boards and commissions. Learn how to apply via the governor's Appointments website.


WMU is proud to have seven Broncos currently serving in the Michigan Legislature:

  • Rep. Julie Alexander (R-Hanover)
  • Rep. Tom Barrett (R-Potterville)
  • Rep. Kim LaSata (R-St. Joseph)
  • Rep. Dave Maturen (R-Brady Township)
  • Rep. Mike McCready (R-Birmingham)
  • Rep. Aaron Miller (R-Sherman Township)
  • Rep. Kristy Pagan (D-Canton Township)