Diversity and Inclusion

As indicated in the Student Affairs Strategic Plan and Western Michigan University’s Diversity and Multiculturalism Action Plan (DMAP), we are committed to the values of diversity, equity and inclusion. These values are central to achievement, success and a welcoming campus. In order to build intercultural capacity, staff within Student Affairs are expected to actively demonstrate and commit to training and professional development focused on diversity, equity and inclusion.

Upcoming Events 

 

  • Lunch and Learn: Discussion of Brown vs. Board of Education Supreme Court Decision

    • Friday, May 17 at Noon
    • Walker Institute for the Study of Race and Ethnic Relations, 1104 Wellborn Hall
    • More information

 

  • Livable Communities Conference: Smart Mobility Toward Building Livable Communities

    • Thursday and Friday, June 6 and 7
    • Floyd Hall, College of Engineering and Applied Sciences
    • More information

 

Cover of the book Tears We Cannot StopStudent Affairs Diversity Library

Tears We Cannot Stop: A Sermon to White America

This book is available to any Student Affairs staff member to check out of the Student Affairs Diversity Library. Contact Mike Smith for more information. Sponsored by the Student Affairs Committee for Diversity and Inclusion.

"One of the most frank and searing discussions on race ... a deeply serious, urgent book, which should take its place in the tradition of Baldwin's The Fire Next Time and King's Why We Can't Wait." ―The New York Times Book Review, Editor's Choice

"Here’s a sermon that’s as fierce as it is lucid. It shook me up, but in a good way. This is how it works if you’re black in America, this is what happens, and this is how it feels. If you’re black, you’ll feel a spark of recognition in every paragraph. If you’re white, Dyson tells you what you need to know―what this white man needed to know, at least. This is a major achievement. I read it and said amen." ―Stephen King

For further reading

Dr. Dyson's reading list from "Tears We Cannot Stop: A Sermon to White America", pages 199-203

 

Self-Reflection

Per the Human Resources Performance Management Program, each employee will work with their supervisor to determine a performance objective around diversity, equity and inclusion that specifies participation in a minimum of two professional development activities and a corresponding self-reflection for 2018-19.

Possible activities include:

  • Diversity training
  • Workshop participation
  • Attendance at programs focused on intercultural competence
  • Multicultural networking opportunities
  • Community engagement to enhance intercultural knowledge and skills
  • Programs offered by the Student Affairs Diversity and Inclusion Committee
  • Other related activities

Self-reflection will be in response to the following: As a result of your participation, how do you feel you have grown in your knowledge, skills, or awareness related to diversity, equity and/or inclusion?