Partners in Dance

Partners in Dance is a community support organization for the Department of Dance. This organization promotes greater awareness of dance in the community, encourages participation at WMU events, and generates funds for scholarships, special projects and the Great Works Dance Project.


Annually Partners in Dance participates in:

  • Hosting the December Art Hop performance by the Western Dance Project and guests

  • Bestowing tuition scholarships for WMU dance majors
  • Providing summer conference support for WMU dance majors
  • Other special events such as the bus trip and support for choreographic commissions
  • Raising funds to increase and safeguard the Great Works Dance Project Endowment Fund. The Great Works Dance Project is a unique program that brings the work of renowned choreographers to WMU students, faculty and staff and the greater Kalamazoo community. Since 1997, the WMU Department of Dance has produced 41 dances under the auspices of this special program.

    Partners in Dance relies on your membership gift to support the next generation of dance professionals, advocate for dance in West Michigan and beyond, sponsor special events that bring together WMU and the greater Kalamazoo community and invest in innovative dance programming.

Board of Directors

Board of Directors

Executive Board

Pat Plasko, President

Lisa Wainwright, Vice President

Hanna Rose Stangebye, Treasurer

Jessica Spano, Secretary

Megan Slayter, Executive Director


Board Members

Catherine Artman

David Curwen

Stacey Ford

Patti Herm

Kelly Ann Kakaley

Michelle Marquardt

Sabrina Merrill

Paige Mulick

Kris Neubar

Deb Norton

Denise Pollicella

Carolyn Pampalone Rabbers

Sharon Welch

April Slack-Woodward

Ying Zeng

Kaitlynn Bradley and Lanee' Dickens - Student Representatives