Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Presidential Scholars

Each year, faculty members from across the University select the most outstanding senior in their various academic schools, departments and programs to represent their units as a WMU Presidential Scholar. The Presidential Scholar designation is the highest academic honor that WMU can bestow on its undergraduates. Selection is based on the students' general academic excellence, academic and artistic excellence relative to their majors, and intellectual and artistic promise.

  • Hannah G. Sargent - 2021

    Hannah is from Lewis Center, Ohio, and graduated from Olentangy Orange High School. At WMU, she is majoring in aerospace engineering, is a member of the Lee Honors College, and expects to graduate in May 2021. Hannah is also currently enrolled in the accelerated masters degree program for aerospace engineering. She is working on her honors thesis "Design of a Full-Scale Plant for Plastic Pyrolysis" and will defend it in spring 2021. Following graduation, she would like to secure a position at the National Aeronautics and Space Administration. Hannah is currently working in the Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Department. She is a member of the Alpha Lambda Delta National Honors Society and volunteers with Bethany Christina Services, Kalamazoo Loaves and Fishes, and the Kalamazoo Gospel Mission. Along with academic interests, she is an active student-athlete as a member of the Columbus Eagles, a semi-pro women's soccer team in central Ohio and the WMU Women' Varsity Soccer Team. During the 2018 season, she earned honors including the Mid-American Conference All-Freshman Team, College Sports Information Directors of American First-Team Academic All-District, Academic All-MAC Team, and MAC Distinguished Scholar-Athlete. Additionally, Hannah is one of two representatives on the WMU Diversity Task Force where teams work to bring awareness to social justice issues.

Hannah G. Sargent - 2020

Francisco Mendoza Berumen - 2019

Conner Knepley - 2018

Zachary Reinke - 2017

Matthew Baird - 2016

Aaron Dean - 2015

Stephen John - 2014

Brandon Lewis - 2013

Dionisio Del Orbe Henriquez - 2012

Erin Moore - 2011

Nicholas Pohl - 2010

Brian Doorlag - 2009

Roel Brusselmans - 2008

Andrew Hovingh - 2007

Aaron Rimpel - 2006

Mary Beth Greendonner - 2005