Western’s Fall Convocation to celebrate faculty, staff achievements transforms into Academic Excellence Awards Series

Contact: Megan Looker

KALAMAZOO, Mich.—Western Michigan University’s faculty and staff will receive much-deserved applause in 2021. As part of a new tradition, the former Fall Convocation celebration will continue all semester long as the Academic Excellence Awards Series.

The annual recognition of faculty and staff achievements for excellence in teaching, research and service is taking a new shape this year. The awards will be given at several ceremonies throughout the fall semester, beginning Thursday, Sept. 30. Ceremonies will feature a presentation and interviews with the recipients followed by a reception.

The schedule is available online and includes: 

Emerging Scholar Award
Thursday, Sept. 30, 3 - 4:30 p.m.
Floyd Hall, Room D0109
Recipients: Megan Grunert Kowalske, Adam Mathews and Kristina Lemmer

Distinguished Service Award
Thursday, Oct. 7, 3 - 4:30 p.m.
Sangren Hall, Room 1910
Recipients: Ann Miles and Ying Zeng

Distinguished Teaching Award
Friday, Oct. 29, 3 - 4:30 p.m.
Schneider Hall, Room 2000
Recipients: James Eckert and Brian Gogan

Distinguished Faculty Scholar Award
Friday, Nov. 12, 10 - 11:30 a.m.
Richmond Center, Lobby
Recipient: Cat Crotchett

For more WMU news, arts and events, visit WMU News online.