Awards and Recipients

2019 awardees recognized at the fall convocation with President Montgomery and Provost Bott.

WMU faculty and staff are recipients of both internal and external funding awards, as well as honors bestowed upon them for outstanding scholarship. This section of our site provides information about recipients of these awards and honors.



The Distinguished Faculty Scholar Award is among the highest annual honor WMU can bestow on a faculty member. The award recognizes those with an outstanding record of scholarship across one's career.

Distinguished service Award

The Distinguished Service Award recognizes exceptional service through innovative and effective programs which are academic, or related to another facet of University life, such as programs that serve students, faculty or staff in an important and unique way.

Distinguished teaching Award

The Distinguished Teaching Award is the highest honor given by the University to recognize faculty members for their work.

Emerging scholar Award

The Emerging Scholar Award recognizes the accomplishments of WMU faculty members who are among the rising stars in the U.S. higher education.

Extended University Programs Awards

The Faculty Senate EUP Council has developed two new awards to reward EUP instructors who have demonstrated excellence in innovative teaching and community engagement.  


Make a Difference is a campuswide peer-to-peer program that recognizes Western Michigan University staff for their accomplishments and daily investment of energy and creativity. It features semiannual and annual awards available to Staff Compensation System, AFSCME, MSEA and POA employees who provide exceptional services to the University.  

Visiting scholars and artists program 

The Visiting Scholars and Artists Program makes important contributions to the intellectual life of Western Michigan University. This program provides funds for academic units to bring distinguished scholars and artists to campus.