Distinguished Service Award

2023-24 Recipients

  • A portrait of Lisa DeChano-Cook

    Lisa DeChano-Cook

The Distinguished Service Award, first given in 1980, recognizes exceptional service in one or more of the following categories:

  • Service through innovative and effective programs which are academic, or related to another facet of University life, such as programs that serve students, faculty or staff in an important and unique way.
  • Service in areas and organizations that contribute to the growth and stature of the University.
  • Service that extends the impact and presence of the University into larger communities.

The service must affect a significant segment of the University community. The awards is usually given for a body of service, rather than a single activity or achievement. Recipients receive a plaque and a $2,000 honorarium.

Eligibility for the Award

All current, continuing full-time faculty and administrative staff who have at least five years of service at the University are eligible. An individual can only receive the award once.


Contact Tonya Dean or email: faculty-development@wmich.edu with questions, comments, or concerns regarding the Distinguished Service Award.


Nomination Procedure

Nominations may be made by all current, continuing full-time faculty and administrative staff.

Nominations are due Tuesday, April 1, 2025 for the 2025-26 Distinguished Service Award. Nominations must be submitted electronically through the webform (right).

Nomination materials

The nominator should:

  1. Ensure the nominee's eligibility
  2. Complete the nomination webform
  3. Upload the following to the nomination form:
    • the nominator's letter of support
    • the nominee's CV or resume emphasizing the nominee's service
    • other letters of support (both inside and outside the University) that emphasize the nature and scope of the nominee's service, making sure that these letters represent diverse viewpoints rather than simply collecting many letters that are similar.

The committee's decision on award recipients will be made on the basis of the above materials only.


Past Recipients

  • List of Award Recipients since 1980

    Faculty Recipients

    • Lisa DeChano Cook
    • Mariola Pérez de la Cruz
    • Sisay Asefa
    • Yousef Alavi
    • Thomas C. Bailey
    • John Benson
    • Donald Blasch
    • Arvon Byle
    • Sterling Breed
    • Donald Bullock
    • Mary Cain
    • Stephen Covell (2018)
    • Howard Dooley (2016)
    • Robert Erickson
    • Eileen Evans
    • Robert Felkel (2017)
    • R. Wayne Fuqua
    • Harold Glasser
    • John Hanley
    • Barbara Havira
    • David Houghton
    • Wei-Chiao Huang (2019)
    • Robert Kaufman
    • Alan E. Kehew
    • Peter Krawutschke
    • George Mallinson
    • Gary Mathews
    • Ann Miles (2021)
    • Ralph Miller
    • Donna Oas
    • Richard Oxhandler
    • Claude Phillips
    • Paul Ponchillia
    • James Powell
    • William Rantz (2019)
    • Joseph Reish (2015)
    • David Rozelle
    • James Sanders
    • Visho Sharma
    • C. Dennis Simpson
    • Dean Tyndall
    • Shirley VanHoeven
    • Lewis Walker
    • Robert A. Wertkin
    • Sarah E. Summy


    Staff Recipients

    • Dennis Boyle
    • Griselda Daniel
    • George Demetrakopolous
    • Tony O. Dennis
    • Joyce DeRight
    • Carl Doubleday
    • Charlotte Giscombe
    • Arlen Gullickson
    • Edward Harkenrider
    • Diana Hernandez (2019)
    • Jolene Jackson
    • John Kundel
    • Laura Latulippe
    • Sue Oole
    • Rob Pennock
    • Sally Pippen
    • Abraham Poot
    • Tracey L. Quada
    • Geraldine Schma
    • Amy Seth (2016)
    • Hazel Starcher
    • Marie Stevens
    • Yumi Takahasi Ede (2017)
    • Juan Tavares (2015)
    • Peter Thannhauser (2018)
    • Jan Van Der Kley
    • Martha Warfield
    • Toni Woolfork-Barnes
    • Ying Zeng (2021)
    • Christine Zimmer
    • Kerrie Jo Harvey