Sixth Annual Summer Conference on Livable Communities

Smart Mobility Toward Building Livable Communities

  • June 6 - 7, 2019
  • Western Michigan University, Kalamazoo, MI

The Transportation Research Center for Livable Communities (TRCLC), a Tier 1 University Transportation Center funded by the US Department of Transportation, is hosting its 6th Annual Summer Conference on Livable Communities. The conference will be held on June 6 - 7, 2019 at Western Michigan University, Kalamazoo, Michigan

This year’s theme of the conference is “Smart Mobility Toward Building Livable Communities.” We would like to discuss how recent technological advances in transportation and the new mobility options will contribute to building livable communities by proving alternative transportation options and assisting those who have limited transportation options. 

Conference Program

Topic areas:
  • Innovations on active transportation
  • Innovative safe mobility for elderly and people with disabilities
  • Advances in public transportation and shared use mobility
  • Technological advances in pedestrian and bicycle transportation
  • Technology for people with limited transportation options
Conference activities:
  • Presentations
  • Poster Session
  • Roundtable Discussion
  • Demonstrations
Who should attend:
  • Academic Researchers and Graduate students
  • Transportation engineers
  • Urban and transportation planners
  • Public transit managers
  • Non-motorized transportation program managers
  • Public health professionals
  • Local government administrators
Important Dates:
  • May 1, 2019:  Abstract Submission Deadline
  • May 15, 2019: Acceptance Notification
  • April 15 – May 31, 2019: Conference Registration (seats are limited)
  • May 20, 2019: Final Program Announcement
  • June 6 – 7, 2019: Conference
Conference Chair:
  • Jun-Seok Oh, Western Michigan University
Technical Committee:
  • Valerian Kwigizile, Western Michigan University
  • Stephen Mattingly, University of Texas, Arlington
  • Ziqi Song, Utah State University
  • Deo Chimba, Tennessee State University
  • Stephen Remias, Wayne State University
Conference Organizing Committee:
  • Jun-Seok Oh, Western Michigan University
  • Valerian Kwigizile, Western Michigan University
  • Staci Adams, Western Michigan University