Student Achievement Awards

Students collecting data in a fieldStudent achievement awards

The Institute of the Environment and Sustainability at Western Michigan University sponsors six awards annually. Each recipient is recognized at the annual student awards celebration in April, and receives a certificate and a gift. Students are invited and encouraged to nominate a fellow student for the Environmental Service Award and the Michael Swords Sustainable Living award (please see below for details).

Presidential Scholar

Each year every academic unit is invited by the Faculty Senate to select an outstanding senior undergraduate for this award, which is considered to be the highest recognition for academic achievement that an undergraduate at WMU can receive. The awards are presented at a special convocation held in late March annually. Recipients do not receive a monetary award from the University, so the Institute provides the Presidential Scholar with the same monetary award as our other awardees.

Academic Excellence Awards

This award is given to a student in each of our three majors: environmental and sustainability studies, freshwater science and sustainability, and sustainable brewing. The award is given to students with senior standing and is based solely on academic achievements. The Institute’s Presidential Scholar awardee for that year is not eligible.

Environmental Service Award and Michael Swords Sustainable Living Award

This award is presented to a student in the Institute (major or minor) of senior standing who has demonstrated, through personal action, a willingness and ability to work for an environmentally better future. Nominations for this award are solicited from students who are currently pursuing a major or minor in the Institute. The final selection will be made by the Institute’s faculty and staff.

You can nominate a fellow student (or yourself) for these awards below. You will be asked to write a paragraph explaining why you think your nominee should receive the award. Nominations will be accepted until March 1. 


Past recipients of these awards

Awards and honors