Academic Leadership Academy

2019-20 Academic Leadership Academy Cohort.

Applications for the 2019 - 2020 Academy are due by Friday, June 14, 2019. Please send the application, a letter of interest, a resume or CV, and a letter of support from your direct supervisor or department chair to the Office of Faculty Development at Mail Stop 5268 or by email to


The strength of any organization can be measured by the capacity of its members to be leaders at many levels. WMU is pleased to offer faculty and university professional staff the opportunity to develop their leadership skills through the Academic Leadership Academy. 

Participants in the academy will be able to:

  • Better lead groups or organizations at WMU or elsewhere.
  • Better participate as part of teams in which they are not the leaders.
  • Better understand the cultural context of WMU and other institutions.
  • Identify and prioritize challenges and leadership opportunities in realms such as academic, research, and economic development and social justice.
  • Understand leadership literature and translate that literature into practical application.

The academy is a year-long learning community in which participants and facilitators meet weekly to explore literature on leadership. Discussions include specific situations where leadership skills are used, developed and implemented. Participants meet on Thursdays, from noon to 1:30 p.m. The academy invites faculty and university professional staff, at or above the assistant manager/director level, to attend.  





2017-2018 participants

2016-17 participants

2015-16 participants

2014-2015 participants

2013-14 participants

2012-13 participants

2011-12 participants

2010-11 participants

2009-10 participants

2008-09 participants


For more information about the Academic Leadership Academy contact Jan Gabel-GoesApplications for the 2019 - 2020 Academy are due by Friday, June 14, 2019