Assessment Excellence Award Recipients 2019

Each year, the University Assessment Steering Committee (UASC) bestows awards to recognize outstanding achievement in outcomes assessment. These awards are the UASC Assessment Excellence Collaboration Award, Individual Award and Unit Award.

Since 2007, we have presented these awards to highlight, honor and make an example of best practices in assessment of student learning at WMU. Following are the names of the winners for the 2019 awards, which were announced at the annual WMU Assessment in Action Conference on Friday, March 15, 2019. Please note that there were no nominations for the Collaboration Award in 2019.

  2019 Individual Award: Dr. Matthew Ross

(Department of Finance and Commercial Law) 

Marilyn Duke, UASC 2018-19 Chair,

and Dr. Matthew Ross, Assistant Professor 


2019 Unit Award: School of Music

        Assessment Committee 

  Marilyn Duke, UASC 2018-19 Chair,

and Bradley Wong, Director, School of Music

The Unit Award winners receive a plaque and university-wide recognition and individual award winners receive a monetary gift and university-wide recognition. Congratulations to the 2019 winners! For more information about the award winners, go here.

For award criteria and guidelines and information on how to make a nomination for the 2020 awards, go here. For questions, contact Karen Stokes Chapo: