Excellence in Diversity Award

Nominations sought for 2024 Excellence in Diversity Awards!

As you consider nominating individuals, groups or programs for the Excellence in Diversity Award please notice the following are the criteria in which the nominees must demonstrate:

  • Foster the development and maintenance of a understanding of diversity, inclusion, equity and multiculturalism through training or education at any level within the institution. 
  • To create a strategy for recommendation to dismantle institutional bias and supports and sustains efforts of diversity, equity, and inclusion at various levels of the institution. 
  • Demonstrate intentional efforts to recruit, retain, and graduate diverse students.
  • Demonstrate intentional efforts to promote diversity within the work force of campus at all employee levels.
  • Demonstrate the enhancement of curricular, co- curricular, research, service, creative and study abroad opportunities that engage the university community and affirms a commitment to diverse, equitable and inclusive learning environment.
  • Develop and maintain measures of accountability that allow for the accurate assessment of progress towards becoming an inclusive campus.

Nomination Form

Submission date is August 2nd, 2024.


 Please join us in congratulating the 2022 Excellence in Diversity Award Recipients:

  • Tony Denis (Director of graduate student recruitment and retention)
  • Leah Latumaerissa (International Student)
  • WMU Department of Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences. 

More Information Here


Please join us in congratulating the 2022 Excellence in Diversity Award Recipients:

  • WMU Athletics Diversity Task Force
WMU Athletics Diversity Task Force Committee

Amy Washington

Julian Jones
Colleen Munson
Danny Walen
Luchara Wallace
Ryan Tomlinson
Timothy Herrmann
Shane Clipfell
Devin Johnson
Dan Bartholomae
Keanah Smith
  • WMU Professional Development Institute
  • Dr. Staci Perryman-Clark


Please join us in congratulating the 2021 Excellence in Diversity Award Recipients:

  • College of Health & Human Services Diversity and Inclusion Committee: 

  • David Paul
  • Megan Grunert Kowalske

We are grateful for their efforts to impact WMU by fostering and promoting an environment that is inclusive, diverse, and equitable. On behalf of the Office of Diversity and Inclusion and WMU, we would like to say thank you for your work DEI champions and thank you to the selection review committee for your work in selecting this year's award recipients. 

Excellence in Diversity Awards 2020

Each year the nomination process allows us to learn about some of the exceptional work towards creating a diverse, inclusive, and equitable learning environment. The purpose of this award is to acknowledge and honor the work of our colleagues and students who support and exemplify the Diversity and Multiculturalism Action Plan (DMAP).  Please join us in congratulating the 2020 Excellence in Diversity Award Recipients: College Assistance Migrant Program (CAMP), Student Affairs Diversity and Inclusion Committee, and the Future Teachers of Color (RSO). Recipients will receive their awards once we return to campus in the fall. Thank you to the nomination review committee for their work in selecting three recipients from many nominations.

The following are the names of those serving on the Student Affairs Diversity and Inclusion Policy Subcommittee, and the Professional Development Subcommittee, the founders and e-board of The Future Teachers of Color (RSO), and the committee members of the College Assistance Migrant Program (CAMP) :

                       Student Affairs Diversity and InclusionThe Future Teachers of Color College Assistance Migrant Program
Policy Subcommittee       Professional Development SubcommitteeCommittee               Peer Leaders
Dr. Suzie Nagel-Bennett

Michael Smith

DeShaun Cornelius

Diana Hernández

 Amy Belmares
Michael SmithMelissa KuepferMarcus MooreLiliana Salas Cristian Cardoso
Janice QuakenbushBonnie PfingstHailey TimmermanMaria Mata Priscilla Flores
Connor KirkpatrickDr. Ewa UrbanWilliam WrightAshley Bravo Lisbeth Morales
Emily HazelBrian FullerSarah GiramiaJose Alexis Mejia 
Ciji HeiserAlecia ChenaultTerry Patton  Recruitment Assistant
 Jeremy YnclanJarae McCoy   Magali Carrillo
 Beth Northuis