Scholarships for Undergraduate Students

Dr. Deither Haenicke, namesake of the Deither H. Haenicke scholarship for international students, with students at commencement in the 1980's.

The Deither H. Haenicke Scholarship for international students is named after Dr. Deither H. Haenicke (pictured above), president emeritus and stalwart advocate for international education at Western Michigan University.

While most U.S. federal financial aid is restricted to U.S. citizens and permanent residents, international undergraduate students may apply to other funding sources. For a U.S. university to issue an I-20 or DS-2019, international students must provide evidence of the ability to pay for all tuition and living expenses.

A scholarship is an award of financial aid for a student to further their education and can be awarded upon various criteria that might include academic merit and demonstration of financial need. 

Undergraduate Scholarship Opportunities at WMU 

Most scholarships can be combined so we encourage you to apply for as many scholarships as possible!

The Diether H. Haenicke Scholarship

The Diether H. Haenicke Scholarship is a merit-based scholarship awarded to international students upon first-time admission to Western Michigan University. The award amounts are determined on the basis of the cumulative Grade Point Average (GPA) on a four-point scale. Scholarship funds are limited, so it is important to submit a complete WMU application as early as possible.

Scholarship Details*

  • Paid in equal amounts in fall and spring semesters.
  • Renewable up to eight semesters or until graduation requirements are met, whichever comes first. Students in the Pathway Program (Dual Enrollment) may be eligible to receive up to nine semesters. Scholarship funds will cover ONLY the academic credits, not the ESL credits during the Pathway Program. 
  • Scholarship is awarded at the following GPA requirement and value levels. All gradings will be converted to a four-point scale. 
Cumulative GPA (on a four-point scale) Award amount** (per year)
3.50—3.69 $5,000
3.70—3.94 $7,500
3.95—4.0 $15,000

 *The Diether H. Haenicke scholarship award is contingent upon availability of funds; therefore, students are encouraged to apply early.

**Award amount shown applies to students beginning study Fall 2020 or after.

No additional scholarship application necessary! Admission applications from freshman and transfer students received on or before February 1 will be considered automatically. Please note that the International Admissions and Services will continue to accept undergraduate applications until June 15 for fall semester. Scholarship eligible applications received after February 1 will be waitlisted, and if funds become available, new awards will be offered and notified by May 1. 

Timeline for selection*

  • February 1 - Complete application must be received.
  • February 15 - Scholarship recipients will be notified by email.
  • March 15 - A virtual meeting with all scholarship recipients will take place.
  • April 1 - Deadline for scholarship recipients to confirm acceptance of the scholarship.

*The Diether H. Haenicke Scholarship, awarded to students who do not confirm acceptance by April 1, will be withdrawn and awarded to other qualified students.

Criteria for selection:

  • Must be admissible to WMU.
  • International undergraduate students applying for and enrolled in fully online degree programs will NOT be eligible for the Haenicke scholarship.
  • Undergraduate degree-seeking student entering WMU for the first time after secondary school or transfer from another post-secondary institution.
  • Cumulative GPA of 3.5 and above on a 4.0 scale

  • A complete application to the University must be received by February 1, meeting all application requirements

Criteria for renewal: 

  • Recipients for fall 2020 and onwards must maintain a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher. Scholarship recipients awarded prior to fall 2020, must maintain a cumulative GPA of 2.5 or higher.

  • Continue to enroll at WMU as a full-time student (minimum 12 credits each semester). Students who are in their last semester of studies and are taking less than 12 credits are eligible for renewal by providing proof of approved reduced course load (RCL).

  • Successfully complete a minimum of 24 credit hours each academic year.

  • Remain an international student.

  • Renewable up to eight semesters or until graduation requirements are met, whichever comes first. Students in the Pathway Program (Dual Enrollment) may be eligible to receive up to nine semesters.