Advising

Our offices are open Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. for in-person or virtual appointments. To make an appointment, contact staff directly.  Walk-in service (form drop off, pick up, service inquiry, and scheduling) is available Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. through 4 p.m. Walk-in meetings with counselors on duty (for topics and questions that can be addressed during a brief, 5-10 minute conversation) are available Monday through Friday from 1:30 to 4 p.m.

If you have an emergency, call 911 immediately. If you have a border issue (such as detainment), please contact Kalamazoo County Consolidated Dispatch at (269) 488-8911 (ask to be directed to a WMU Public Safety officer).

Immigration Questions

 Title Contact Name Contact Email Contact Phone
Senior Director of International Student and Scholar Services Lee Ryder (RO lee.ryder@wmich.edu

(269) 387-5873

Associate Director of Immigration Services

Tara Severino

tara.severino@wmich.edu

(269) 387-5657
Immigration Advisor

Brian Hills

brian.hills@wmich.edu

(269) 387-5878

Immigration Advisor Svetlana Stone svetlana.stone@wmich.edu (269) 387-5876
Coordinator of International Student and Scholar Services Rachel Konecny rachel.konecny@wmich.edu (269) 387-3857
Coordinator of Immigration Records Joshua Houtkooper joshua.r.houtkooper@wmich.edu (269) 387-5896

Health Insurance Questions

Title Contact Name Contact Email Contact Phone
Insurance Coordinator Jan VandeVusse ias-insurance@wmich.edu (269) 387-5887

 

Admissions Questions

Student Home Country Counselor Name Counselor Email

Counselor Phone    

Bangladesh, Brazil, Colombia, Congo, Ecuador, India, Nepal, Oman, Pakistan, Peru, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Thailand

Other: CELCIS Students

 Kim Cho  kim.cho@wmich.edu (269) 387-5898

Canada, China, Dominican Republic, Ethiopia, Germany, Ghana, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Jamaica, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Malaysia, Mexico, Nigeria, Philippines, Spain, Taiwan, Turkey, Vietnam

Other: Fulbright, Athletes

 MK Mohanan  mk.mohanan@wmich.edu (269) 387-5865

Afghanistan, Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Saudi Arabia

Craig VanGalder craig.w.vangalder@wmich.edu (269) 387-3959

Other countries not listed, counselor assigned by last name. 

Craig VanGalder
(Last Name A-N)

Kim Cho
(Last Name O-Z)

craig.w.vangalder@wmich.edu

kim.cho@wmich.edu.

(269) 387-3959

(269) 387-5898

General Questions

If you are unsure who to call or have a general question, email us at oiss-info@wmich.edu