- Accosting, enticing or soliciting a child for immoral purposes.
- Involvement in child sexually abusive activity or material.
- A third or subsequent violation of any combination of engaging in obscene or indecent conduct in public, indecent exposure or a local ordinance substantially corresponding to either offense.
- First, second, third or fourth degree criminal sexual conduct.
- Assault with intent to commit CSC.
- If the victim is less than 18 years of age the crime of gross indecency (except for a juvenile disposition or adjudication), kidnapping, sodomy or soliciting another for prostitution.
- Leading, enticing or carrying away a child under 14 years of age.
- Any other violation of a state law or local ordinance constituting a sexual offense against an individual less than 18 years of age.
- An offense committed by a sexually delinquent person.
- An attempt or conspiracy to commit one of the offenses listed above.
The Michigan Department of Education approves certification, not the Office of Teacher and Administrator Certification. If you have any convictions or civil infractions you will need to provide Western Michigan University with any of the following from the court(s) where you were convicted or fined:
- Case history
- Judgment of sentence
- Register of action
WMU may have problems placing you in a school setting for internship and is not responsible if you are not accepted for placement. Certification is not guaranteed when you have a conviction and certain convictions will prohibit certification.