Articulation Information

Western Michigan University partners with the following institutions to make articulation information available as transfer guides and articulation agreements.

Transfer guides

A transfer guide is a listing of community college courses that meet specific course requirements of a program at the University. Guides of courses that meet WMU's general education requirements and transfer guides for popular WMU majors are available on the Transfer Portal

Articulation agreements

Articulation agreements are formal, written documents agreed upon by two or more institutions. In comparison to traditional transfer program guides, articulation agreements may include: a value-added component which allows additional transfer credits; an enhanced number of quality learning options; and unique student-centered options (e.g., waiver of certain requirements, added student support services, etc.). Information about the following agreements is available from the colleges listed below, the WMU Office of Admissions (domestic), or the Haenicke Institute (international).

Aquinas College

  • Engineering (2017)

College of DuPage

  • Honors Program Transfer Agreement (2015)
  • Interdisciplinary Health Services (2016)

Delta College

  • Aviation Flight Science (2008)

Grand Rapids Community College

  • Institutional Agreement (2015)
  • Business Administration (2015)
  • Child and Family Development (2015)
  • Elementary Education (2016)
  • Engineering Design Technology (2020)
  • Engineering Management Technology (2020)
  • Exercise Science Professional Program - Applied Track ( 2016)
  • Exercise Science Professional Program - Clinical Track (2016)
  • Industrial and Entrepreneurial Engineering (2020)
  • Manufacturing Engineering Technology (2020)
  • Music and Music Therapy (2013)
  • Sport Management (2016)

Ivy Tech Community College

  • Aviation Flight Science (2014)

Jackson College

  • Aviation Flight Science (2012)

Kalamazoo Valley Community College

  • Business Administration (2015)
  • Engineering Design Technology (2016)
  • Engineering Management Technology (2016)
  • Food Service Administration (2016)
  • Manufacturing Engineering Technology (2016)
  • RN-BSN Completion Program (2016)

Kellogg Community College

  • Aerospace Engineering (2018)
  • Biomedical Science (2018)
  • Business (2018)
  • Civil Engineering (2018)
  • Early Childhood Elementry Education (2018)
  • Economics (BS) (2018)
  • Economics (BA), History Minor (2018)
  • Economics (BA), Philosophy Minor (2018)
  • Economics (BA), Political Science (2018)
  • Elementary Education (2018)
  • Joint Admission Engineering Program (2010)
  • Joint Admission Aviation Program (2010)
  • Mechanical Engineering (2018)
  • Nursing (2018)
  • Psychology (2018)
  • Social Work (2019)
  • Special Education and Elementary Education K-12

Lake Michigan College

  • Early Childhood Elementary Education (2016)
  • Elementary Education (2016)
  • Manufacturing Engineering (2007)

Lansing Community College

  • Aviation Flight Science (2013)
  • Aviation Maintenance Technology (2010)
  • Child Development (2010)
  • Elementary Education (2015)

MIAT College of Technology

  • Aviation Maintenance Technology (2013)

Muskegon Community College

  • Engineering Design Technology (2015)
  • Engineering Management Technology (2015)
  • Joint Admission Engineering Program (2010)
  • Joint Admission Engineering Program (2010)
  • Manufacturing Engineering Technology (2015)

Northwestern Michigan College

  • Freshwater Science and Sustainability (2014)

Parkland College (Illinois)

  • Aviation Management and Operations (2016)

School of Missionary Aviation Technology

  • Aviation Maintenance Technology (2013)

Michigan Transfer Agreement (MTA) -- general education

Students who began their community college studies during the fall 2014 semester or later are able to complete the Michigan Transfer Agreement (MTA). WMU honors this agreement, which meets the lower-level general education requirements at WMU, for all of the Michigan community colleges. 

MACRAO Transfer Agreement -- general education

Students who began their community college studies prior to fall 2014 are able to complete the existing MACRAO Agreement at participating colleges until the end of the summer 2019. Irrespective of time, Western Michigan University will continue to honor the MACRAO Agreement whenever a student’s transcript shows that the MACRAO Agreement was previously satisfied. Institutions participating in the MACRAO agreement are: Alpena Community College, Bay de Noc Community College, Delta College, Glen Oaks Community College, Gogebic Community College, Grand Rapids Community College, Henry Ford College, Jackson College, Kellogg Community College, Kirtland Community College, Lake Michigan College, Lansing Community College, Macomb Community College, Mid Michigan Community College, Monroe County Community College, Montcalm Community College, Mott Community College, Muskegon Community College, North Central Michigan College, Northwestern Michigan College, Oakland Community College, St Clair County Community College, Schoolcraft College, Southwestern Michigan College, Washtenaw Community College, Wayne County Community College District, and West Shore Community College. 


International articulation agreements


General Education

  • American College of Dubai (Dubai, U.A.E.)
  • Instituto Tecnologico de Santo Domingo (Dominican Republic)

  • Universidad Iberoamericana (Dominican Republic) 

  • Christ University (India)

  •  Rajagiri Business School (India) 

  • Dong A University (South Korea)

  • Hubei University (China) 

  • Guangdong Polytechnic Normal University (China) 

  • National Chung Cheng University (Taiwan) 

  • HELP University (Malaysia) 

  • KDU University College (Malaysia) 

  • INTI Universal Holdings (Malaysia) 

  • Jakarta International College (Indonesia)