Faculty Teaching Excellence Award

Excellence in teaching is a hallmark of Western Michigan University's College of Health and Human Services. To recognize and sustain that tradition, Dean Ron Cisler continues the Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award, established by former Dean Dr. Janet Pisaneschi in 1997. The recipient is recognized at a college-wide, all-hands meeting in the spring semester.

Nomination Form

Award criteria

The award will relate to teaching excellence in one or more of the following areas:

  • Classroom teaching
  • Creative or innovative work as regards teaching, fieldwork, or supervision
  • Teaching that involves interdisciplinary or collaborative activity

Excellence in performance must be described in the nomination. Nominations should address the particular characteristics of excellence - including specific examples that address the criteria - which define exemplary work. In the case of a team award, preference will be given to interdisciplinary teams and it must be evident that all members of the team contributed equally and that a greater result was achieved as a result of the team endeavor.

Who can submit a nomination?

  • WMU faculty, staff, students, alumni and community members

Who is eligible for nomination?

  • All college bargaining unit faculty members, who are tenured or on tenure track, and term faculty

Who is not eligible for nomination?

  • Unit chairs and directors
  • Former recipients


The recipient will receive a $1000 award (gross), a certificate and recognition on a plaque on display at the college. This recipient will also be asked to engage the audience of students and their family members and friends in a 15 minute mini-lecture/presentation at the Dean's List Reception in April of the following year.

Previous award recipients