Stanley S. and Helenan S. Robin Scholarship Award

This award for academic excellence in the fields of Sociology and Political Science has been established by WMU President Diether Haenicke to honor the outstanding careers of Stanley and Helenan Robin, Professors (Emeritus), respectively of Sociology and Political Science. The scholarship is awarded annually by the Departments of Sociology and Political Science. The scholarship is awarded by the departments to an exceptional undergraduate majoring in that department. The award is made on the basis of the student’s academic scholarship, disciplinary and professional accomplishment, and assessed potential for and commitment to advanced graduate work in the fields of Political Science.


To be eligible for this award from the Department of Political Science, at time of applications, a student:

1. Must have enrolled WMU as a freshman and, at time of application, must have received 4/5th of their college credit hours at WMU, and must complete their senior year at WMU;

2. Must state their intention to pursue a graduate degree in political science (or public policy, or international or area studies with a political focus), either at WMU or another university

3. Must, at time of application, have a minimum overall grade point average of 3.0, with a minimum average of 3.5 or better in at least five political science courses.

Note that the receipt of other awards, scholarship or honors will not make any student ineligible to apply for or receive the Robin Scholarship. 

Your application form, essay and names of references are due in the political science department office, 3308 Friedmann Hall, by March 1. Announcement of the award will be made at the end of March. The award will be presented at the Political Science Honors Luncheon in early April.