Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, as of August 17, 2020 the Faculty Senate Office will be operating with limited in-person hours. Staff will be in the Moore Hall offices on Mondays and Tuesdays from 8 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. and on Thursdays from 10:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. The majority of functions will continue to be performed remotely. All visitors will be required to wear a facial covering (mask) when entering the office.

The Western Michigan University Faculty Senate is the Board of Trustees authorized seat of shared governance for faculty-involved institutional matters related to the academy. The WMU Faculty Senate is the house of faculty participation in institutional governance, with delegated authorities to bring together interested parties for effective decision-making in order to advance the mission of the University.


Institutional governance engages the structures and processes involved in organizational control, planning and implementation. All legal authority over University operations resides with the WMU Board of Trustees1 by virtue of State Constitution and law. The WMU Board of Trustees specifically delegates to the University President all authorities consistent with the position of chief executive officer1. Additionally, the WMU Board of Trustees reserves final authority to sanction other entities by approving their founding documents1. In recognition of the specialized training, insight and competence of faculty, the Board of Trustees has directly authorized the Faculty Senate to participate in Institutional governance as described in, Article I, Article II and Article III, sections 1 and 2 of the WMU Faculty Senate Constitution2, approved by the Board of Trustees.