Ellen Breakfield-Glick

Photo of Ellen Breakfield-Glick
Ellen Breakfield-Glick
Assistant Professor, Clarinet
(269) 387-4695
(269) 387-1113
1412 Dalton Center, Mail Stop 5434
Mailing address: 
Irving S. Gilmore School of Music
Western Michigan University
1903 W. Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo, MI 49008-5434 USA
  • D.M.A., Clarinet Performance, University of Michigan
  • M.M., Clarinet Performance, University of Michigan
  • B.M., Clarinet Performance, Eastman School of Music

Dr. Ellen Breakfield-Glick, Assistant Professor of Clarinet, teaches applied clarinet, coaches chamber music and performs with Western Winds and the Western Wind Quintet. She also has an active career as a performer in solo and chamber music recitals and orchestral work.

Dr. Glick has held positions with CityMusic Cleveland Chamber Orchestra, the Michigan Philharmonic Orchestra and frequently performs with the Louisville Orchestra, Jacksonville Symphony and other orchestras throughout the Midwest. Her playing has been described by The Cleveland Plain Dealer as “both a novelty and a delight.”

As an educator, Dr. Glick previous position was as a faculty member at Cleveland State University.  In 2016, she was awarded the Golden Apple Teaching Award, given to faculty members for excellence in teaching and outstanding contributions to the CSU community.  During the summer, she is the Guest Faculty Director at the University of Michigan’s MPulse Clarinet Institute, a position she has held since 2014, and has also served as a chamber music coach at the South Carolina Governor’s School for the Arts and Humanities.  

Dr. Glick received a Bachelor of Music Degree from the Eastman School of Music and Master of Music and Doctor of Musical Arts Degrees from the University of Michigan School of Music, Theatre and Dance. She is a proud graduate of Eastman’s Arts Leadership Program with a focus in entrepreneurship and marketing. She is passionate about preparing performers and educators for successful music careers in the 21st century.  Her teachers have included Daniel Gilbert, Kenneth Grant, Robert DiLutis, Michael Webster and Harry Hill.